Monday, August 8, 2016

Special Eric Clapton live release due

Eric Clapton has announced the upcoming release of "Live In San Diego with special guest JJ Cale." The album, which will be offered as a 2CD set or 3LP set and digital album, is available now for pre-order and will be released Sept. 30 on Reprise/Bushbranch Records.

Fans who pre-order the album from will receive the track “Anyway The Wind Blows” instantly and 2 additional songs in advance of the album release date. The 180gram version of the vinyl is exclusively available at, as well as a T-shirt and album bundle.

A live video of Clapton and Cale performing “Anyway The Wind Blows” from San Diego is available now at

Recorded at Clapton’s March 15, 2007 performance at the iPayOne Center in San Diego, CA, this concert was part of a world tour that featured guitarists Derek Trucks (Tedeschi Trucks Band) and Doyle Bramhall II. The two-hour San Diego concert included JJ Cale as a special guest on five tracks (including “After Midnight” and “Cocaine”), as well as Robert Cray on the final song of the record, “Crossroads.”

After successfully covering several JJ Cale songs over his career, Clapton finally collaborated with Cale in 2006 on the original album "Road to Escondido." At the time, Clapton said “This is the realization of what may have been my last ambition, to work with the man whose music has inspired me for as long as I can remember.” So it is fitting that one year later, Cale joined Clapton on stage.

Track listing: 

1. Tell The Truth
2. Key To The Highway
3. Got To Get Better In A Little While
4. Little Wing
5. Anyday
6. Anyway The Wind Blows
7. After Midnight
8. Who Am I Telling You?
9. Don’t Cry Sister
10. Cocaine
11. Motherless Children
12. Little Queen Of Spades
13. Further On Up The Road
14. Wonderful Tonight
15. Layla
16. Crossroads


Eric Clapton: Guitar & Vocals
JJ Cale: Guitar & Vocals (Tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Doyle Bramhall II: Guitar/Backing Vocals
Derek Trucks: Slide Guitar
Willie Weeks: Bass
Steve Jordan: Drums
Chris Stainton: Keyboards
Tim Carmon: Keyboards
Michelle John: Backing Vocals
Sharon White: Backing Vocals
Robert Cray: Guitar & Vocals (Track 16)

No comments: