Monday, August 8, 2016

Eagle Rock Entertainment news: Peter Gabriel, Pete Townshend

With both acts playing more live dates next month, there should be plenty of interest in what sounds like two very interesting new titles from Eagle Rock Entertainment...

A double release from Peter Gabriel hits stores Sept. 16, featuring a reissue of the 2DVD set “Still Growing Up Live & Unwrapped” and for the first time - a Blu-ray+DVD set of “Growing Up Live + Still Growing Up Live & Unwrapped.” The latter contains all the material from the original DVD releases plus the previously unreleased “Growing Up On Tour – A Family Portrait”. Growing Up Live will also be released on digital formats.

The “Growing Up Live” concert film was recorded on the tour of the same name from 2002-03 and boasts key tracks Sledgehammer, In Your Eyes, Solsbury Hill, Digging In The Dirt, More Than This, Red Rain, Growing Up, Mercy Street, Here Comes The Flood and more.

“Still Growing Up Live & Unwrapped” includes the concert film of the Still Growing Up tour from 2004 and the “Unwrapped” film (both shot in standard definition), which give a more intimate look at Peter Gabriel on tour and explore the world behind the songs featured in the shows. The Blu-ray+DVD set has all the material from these three DVD discs included on one Blu-ray disc and one DVD. Also included on the Blu-ray disc is the Family Portrait film.

In 2002 and 2003, following the release of his album “Up”, Peter Gabriel went on the road with his “Growing Up” tour, once again collaborating with production designer Robert Lepage to create a spectacular and theatrical live experience.

The tour took in thirty-two cities across the USA, Canada and Europe with this concert film, directed by Hamish Hamilton, being shot over two nights at the FilaForum in Milan in May 2003 with Peter Gabriel and the band performing “in the round” at the center of the arena. Filmed in high definition, this was originally released on DVD in 2003 but never on Blu-ray. The DVD is now being reissued and the concert is being released on Blu-ray for the first time.

“Still Growing Up Live & Unwrapped” is taken from the “Still Growing Up” tour of 2004, which took Peter Gabriel and his band into smaller and more intimate venues in contrast to the large arenas chronicled in the “Growing Up Live” film. Award-winning director Hamish Hamilton reunites with Peter Gabriel for this concert film.

The ‘Unwrapped’ film sees Anna Gabriel take over the director’s chair with the collaboration of Hamish Hamilton. A simpler approach suggested a different set list and Peter, Hamish and Anna were determined that this should be filmed in a very different style. It shows Peter Gabriel as many of his fans love to see him, just playing the music.

For the Blu-ray+DVD edition “Growing Up Live” is presented in high definition for the first time on the Blu-ray disc. Also on the Blu-ray disc in standard definition are the “Unwrapped” film and its bonus features and, as an added bonus, Anna Gabriel’s previously unreleased film “Growing Up On Tour – A Family Portrait” has also been included. The DVD in this set contains the “Still Growing Up Live” film and its bonus features.

View “Sledgehammer” here:

Pre-order here:
Growing Up Live & Unwrapped + Still Growing Up Live -

Still Growing Up Live & Unwrapped -

“Growing Up Live + Still Growing Up” BLU-RAY FORMAT

Disc One
Growing Up Live Tracklisting (HD / 16:9 / DTS-HD Master Audio / LPCM Stereo / 133 mins)

1) Here Comes The Flood
2) Darkness
3) Red Rain
4) Secret World
5) Sky Blue (w/Blind Boys Of Alabama)
6) Downside Up
7) The Barry Williams Show
8) More Than This
9) Mercy Street
10) Digging In The Dirt
11) Growing Up
12) Animal Nation
13) Solsbury Hill
14) Sledgehammer
15) Signal To Noise
16) In Your Eyes (w/Sevara Nazarkhan)
17) Father Son
18) Growing Up – Stabilizer Remix (Credits)

Growing Up On Tour – A Family Portrait (SD / 4:3 / Dolby Digital Stereo / 39 mins)
Growing Up Live Bonus Features (SD / 16:9 / Dolby Digital Stereo / 15 mins)
The Story Of Growing Up / Tony Levin’s View (tour photos)
Still Growing Up Unwrapped (SD / 16:9 / DTS Surround Sound / Dolby Digital Stereo / 77 mins)

1) Red Rain
2) Secret World
3) White Ashes
4) Burn You Up, Burn You Down
5) San Jacinto
6) Digging In The Dirt
7) Solsbury Hill
8) Sledgehammer
9) The Tower That Ate People
10) Come Talk To Me
11) In Your Eyes
12) Biko

Still Growing Up Unwrapped Bonus Features (SD / 16:9 / 31 mins)
Rehearsal Tracks (DTS Surround Sound / Dolby Digital Stereo):
1) Darkness
2) No Way Out
3) Growing Up

Live On “Later…With Jools Holland” (Dolby Digital Stereo):
1) Father Son
2) Downside Up

Disc Two [DVD]

Still Growing Up Live Tracklisting (SD / 16:9 / DTS Surround Sound / Dolby Digital 5.1 / Dolby Digital Stereo / 87 mins)

1) The Feeling Begins – Levon Minassian
2) Red Rain
3) Secret World
4) White Ashes
5) Games Without Frontiers
6) Burn You Up, Burn You Down
7) The Tower That Ate People
8) San Jacinto
9) Digging In The Dirt
10) Solsbury Hill
11) Sledgehammer
12) Come Talk To Me
13) Biko

Still Growing Up Live Bonus Features (SD / 16:9 / 18 mins)

In Your Eyes (live) – Peter Gabriel & Daby Toure (DTS Surround Sound / Dolby Digital 5.1 / Dolby Digital Stereo)

No Self Control (video) – Peter Gabriel (Dolby Digital Stereo)

“Still Growing Up Live & Unwrapped”; 2DVD

1) The Feeling Begins – Levon Minassian
2) Red Rain
3) Secret World
4) White Ashes
5) Games Without Frontiers
6) Burn You Up, Burn You Down
7) The Tower That Ate People
8) San Jacinto
9) Digging In The Dirt
10) Solsbury Hill
11) Sledgehammer
12) Come Talk To Me
13) Biko

If you aren’t acquainted with Pete Townshend’s Deep End, get ready to be introduced when Eagle Rock Entertainment releases Face The Face as a DVD+CD set and digital formats on Sept. 16. This is the first official release of this 1986 show on either DVD or CD format.

Pete Townshend’s Deep End featured a diverse and celebrated line-up of musicians.

For this show in particular, Townshend is joined by Pink Floyd’s David Gilmour on lead guitar, Simon Phillips on drums (of Toto fame), and percussionist Jody Linscott, along with Peter Hope-Evans (harmonica), Chucho Merchan (bass), John “Rabbit” Bundrick (keyboards), The Kick Horns (Simon Clarke, Roddy Lorimer, Tim Sanders, Pete Beachill& Dave Plews), and backing vocalists: Billy Nicholls, Ian Ellis, Chris Staines, Gina Foster, and Coral Gordan. Pete Townshend leads the pack on guitar and vocals.

Filmed for the famous German TV series Rockpalast at MIDEM in Cannes on January 29, 1986, Face The Face captures Pete Townshend’s Deep End while they were in the midst of touring in support of Townshend’s solo concept album White City: A Novel.

The set list boasts tracks from the White City album, additional Pete Townshend solo tracks, The Who classics, David Gilmour’s “Blue Light” and a couple of surprises.

Click here to view “Face The Face”:

No comments: