Monday, August 1, 2016

Johnnyswim news

photo: Darren Lau
Johnnyswim has confirmed nationwide tour dates this fall in support of their forthcoming album, Georgica Pond. The jaunt off in October. See below for details.

Georgica Pond is set for release on Sept. 30 on Big Picnic Records. “Summertime Romance,” the first track to be revealed, can be heard here:

The new album was produced by the duo's Abner Ramirez and recorded at their home studio in Los Angeles, with bass and drum parts added at the Castle in Nashville. Johnnyswim teamed up with longtime collaborator Britten Newbill, violinist/composer Anton Patzner, Nashville-based songwriters Natalie Hemby and Chris DeStefano, as well as country music icon Vince Gill.

Of their process, Ramirez explains, “Any fear we had on album one has completely evaporated. We know the people that come to Johnnyswim shows. We know it matters to them what we have to say. We realize that, much like ourselves, our fans appreciate honesty. We wanted that to be the cornerstone of this album.” Amanda Sudano Ramirez further highlights the themes on the album: “love, legacy, the past and the future all put into this bittersweet mixture that makes you fully appreciate the present.”

Abner Ramirez and Amanda Sudano Ramirez make up Johnnyswim. The pair met in Nashville in 2005, instituting a songwriting partnership not long afterward. They clicked together musically and personally, beginning a romantic relationship along with their creative connection. The couple married in 2009 and relocated to Los Angeles.

In addition to their 2014 debut full-length, they’ve released three EPs, as well as a Christmas EP and a live album. They’ve performed on various television shows including VH1's “You Oughta Know Concert,” “The Tonight Show starring Jay Leno,” “Late Show with David Letterman,” “The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson,” “Today Show,” “Live with Kelly & Michael,” and provided the theme song on HGTV’s “Fixer Upper.” The duo has also toured extensively including major U.S. festival appearances.

Track list:

1. Welcome to Georgica Pond
2. Hummingbird
3. Summertime Romance
4. Villains
5. Touching Heaven
6. Georgica Pond
7. Let It Matter
8. First Try
9. In My Arms
10. Lonely Night in Georgia (feat. Vince Gill)
11. Drunks
12. Say Goodnight Instead
13. Rescue You (Bonus Track)
14. Wicked Game (Bonus Track)

Tour dates:

October 14—Seattle, WA—Neptune Theatre
October 15—Portland, OR—Wonder Ballroom
October 18—San Francisco, CA—Great American Music Hall
October 19—Los Angeles, CA—The Fonda Theatre
October 21—Salt Lake City, UT—The State Room
October 25—Lawrence, KS—Granada
October 28—Austin, TX—Emo’s
October 29—Houston, TX—House of Blues
November 1—Birmingham, AL—Iron City Birmingham
November 2—Jacksonville, FL—Mavericks
November 3—Tampa, FL—The Ritz Ybor
November 4—Orlando, FL—The Beacham
November 8—Knoxville, TN—Bijou Theatre
November 9—Nashville, TN—Ryman Auditorium
November 11—Minneapolis, MN—Varsity Theater
November 12—Chicago, IL—Thalia Hall
November 15—Pittsburgh, PA—Mr. Small’s Theatre
November 16—Washington, DC—9:30 Club
November 17—New York, NY—Irving Plaza
November 18—Boston, MA—Paradise Rock Club

No comments: