Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Rod Stewart, the songwriter, returns

Rod Stewart has completed his first album of all-new material in almost 20 years.

“Time” marks Stewart’s long-awaited return to his songwriting roots and features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced. “Time” will be released May 7 by Capitol Records. The iTunes pre-order will include a deluxe edition with three bonus songs including “Legless,” another original Stewart track.
In anticipation, Capitol released an exclusive video featuring portions of seven original new songs set to a montage of never-before-seen videos filmed throughout the making of the album. The video can be viewed at or
Stewart’s first single, “She Makes Me Happy” premiered on U.S. radio and will available for download at all digital retailers beginning at midnight PDT on March 19. The iTunes pre-order for “Time” will launch simultaneously. Fans who pre-order the album on iTunes will instantly receive a download of "She Makes Me Happy.”
In addition, due to the overwhelming anticipation surrounding Stewart’s new album, on April 8, the second track, “Finest Woman,” will also make its U.S. radio premiere. 
Beginning in 2011, during the period Stewart began working on what would become his internationally best-selling autobiography, Rod, his songwriting knack returned.
Said Stewart, “Something about that process of reviewing my life for the book reconnected me and that was it: I was away. Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head. Next thing I knew, I had a song called ‘It’s Over’ about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn’t done and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record, which had never happened before.”

Track Listing

1 She Makes Me Happy
2 Can't Stop Me Now
3 It's Over
4 Brighton Beach
5 Beautiful Morning
6 Live The Life
7 Finest Woman
8 Time
9 Picture In A Frame
10 Sexual Religion
11 Make Love To Me Tonight
12 Pure Love

“TIME” iTunes Deluxe Edition (Bonus Tracks)

1 Love Has No Pride
2 Corina Corina
3 Legless

No comments: