Monday, March 4, 2013

Belinda Carlisle records new song for hits album

"When I first heard 'Sun', I immediately knew I had to record it. It's the best song I've recorded since 'Heaven Is A Place On Earth', and I'm really excited for everyone to hear it." – Belinda Carlisle

Belinda Carlisle, known for her successful solo career as well as the lead vocalist/songwriter of the Go-Go’s, is the subject of a new Icon retrospective, set for March 19 through Universal Music Enterprises.

Carlisle was recently inspired to return to the studio where she recorded a new track, “Sun.” The new track is exclusively available physically on the Icon collection as well as digitally available on Best Of, both which brings Carlisle’s biggest hits together on one album. “Sun” will also be available for download as a digital single as well.

After The Go-Go’s first breakup in 1985, Carlisle embarked on a solo career. Her gold-certified solo album debut, Belinda, was released in '86 and featured the #3 hit "Mad About You." Carlisle returned with her second solo album in 1987, releasing Heaven on Earth, which went platinum, fueled by its #1 single, “Heaven Is A Place On Earth,” the #2 hit "I Get Weak" and Top 10 "Circle in the Sand."

Runaway Horses, Carlisle’s gold-certified third solo album, was released in 1989 and included the hits "Leave a Light On" and "Summer Rain” all of which are featured on the Icon release.

She put out four more solo albums before going on a musical hiatus, during which Carlisle penned her autobiography Lips Unsealed, which reached the top of the N.Y. Times Best Sellers list. Belindia, an Indian-inspired home goods textiles company which features designs by Belinda, was inspired by her time living in India. Belindia's blankets and throws are produced in association with — and a portion of the proceeds go to — Shuktara Project, a Calcutta-based charity that offers care to abandoned children with disabilities.

In 2012, the Go-Go’s celebrated the 30th anniversary of their double-platinum I.R.S. Records debut, Beauty and the Beat, with a remastered and expanded commemorative edition, a successful “Ladies Gone Wild” summer tour and a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

Track listing 

1. Sun
2. Heaven Is A Place On Earth
3. I Get Weak
4. Shades Of Michelangelo
5. Leave A Light On
6. Circle In The Sand
7. Mad About You
8. Summer Rain
9. (We Want) The Same Thing
10. Do You Feel Like I Feel?
11. Live Your Life Be Free

No comments: