Thursday, June 5, 2014

8-Bit Operators cover Depeche Mode

Following previous tributes to Kraftwerk, The Beatles and Devo, 8-Bit Operators return to tackle Depeche Mode.
Curated by electronic music veteran Jeremy Kolosine, this new collection entitled Enjoy the Science (out June 10) features chiptune and synthpunk artists performing highly musical, lo-bit video-game hardware re-imaginings of 15 Depeche Mode tracks, spanning the band’s career.
Showcasing the globe’s most inventive, influential and innovative Operatives of 8-bit arrangement, programming, application & hi-tech production, 8-Bit Operators collective use the sound character delivered by various micro-chips made iconic in the late 20th century (in Nintendos, Ataris, Gameboys, Commodore 64s, Speak & Spells, etc.), and when these devices are musically re-tooled, adapted, or even “circuit-bent”, brand-new creative options and sound palettes are invented. 
This collection illustrates, joyously, the emotional versatility, intensity and fun of chipmusic especially when inspired by the rich melodies and thoughtful lyrics of Depeche Mode’s Martin Gore and former member Vince Clarke.
1. Bacalao - But Not Tonight
2. Herbert Weixelbaum - Enjoy The Silence
3. GOTO80 - Boys Say Go
4. Matt Nida feat. Lisa Schumann - Policy of Truth
5. ComputeHer - Strangelove
6. gwEm - Martyr
7. Laker feat. ONTBG - Clean
8. 8-Bit Operators - Photographic (Megamix)
9. Patokai - New Life
10. Aonami - (Set Me Free) Remotivate Me
11. crashfaster - Never Let Me Down Again
12. gameboymusicclub - Dreaming Of Me
13. Naomi Sample - Somebody
14. Yerzmyey - I Just Can’t Get Enough
15. Inverse Phase - Behind The Wheel

No comments: