Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Fitz and The Tantrums news

Elektra Records will release the new studio album from Fitz and The Tantrums on June 10. 

The self-titled album is the follow-up to 2013's More Than Just a Dream. Fans who pre-order it will instantly receive first single, "HandClap." Deluxe bundles, which include a choice of the album in digital, CD or white vinyl formats paired with an exclusive t-shirt and/or slip mat, can be pre-ordered from Fitz and The Tantrums' online store.

"HandClap" can be streamed HERE. The visualizer for the song can be seen HERE.

Of the single, lead vocalist Michael Fitzpatrick says, "HandClap is a primal tale of love and lust, a call to arms in the late hours of the night. It's the X-rated version of 'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind' happening on a dance floor."

Fitz and The Tantrums will tour North American in June. Artist pre-sale for tickets began  HERE today. Tickets will go on sale to the general public on Friday, April 1, at 10 AM local time. See full routing below. 

"We've always tried to push ourselves at every turn. For our third album, we continued to challenge ourselves, taking care not to write the same record again," notes Fitz.

"Overall, this is an album about desire - the desire for intimacy, for sex, for acceptance on your own terms and the struggle not to compromise," he continues.

Fitz and The Tantrums was recorded in the band's hometown of Los Angeles. Jesse Shatkin (Sia, Matt & Kim) produced eight of the album's eleven tracks. Fitz produced "Fadeback" while Joel Little (Lorde) produced "Do What You Want" and Ricky Reed (Jessie J) helmed "HandClap." 

More Than Just a Dream, which has racked up over 76 million album streams to date, contained the RIAA Gold-certified singles "The Walker" (which was tapped for the 2014 Oscar ad campaign featuring Ellen DeGeneres and a cast of dancers) and "Out Of My League." Both songs were multi-format hits, topping Billboard's Alternative Songs chart at #1 and placing in the Top 5 at Triple A radio and in the Top 15 at Hot AC.

Track listing:

1. HandClap

2. Complicated
3. Burn It Down
4. Roll Up
5. Tricky
6. Fadeback
7. Run It
8. Get Right Back
9. Do What You Want
10. Walking Target
11. A Place For Us

Tour dates: 

16 - The Woodlands, TX @ Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion - 35th Annual Buzzfest
30 - West Palm Beach, FL @ Sunfest
21 - Boston, MA @ DCH Hatch Shell - WBOS EarthFest
3 - Santa Barbara, CA @ Santa Barbara Bowl - KJEE Summer Roundup
4 - Mountain View, CA @ Shoreline Amphitheatre - Live 105 BFD 2016
13 - Norfolk, VA @ Constant Convocation Center - 96x Fest
14 - Richmond, VA @ The National
15 - Greensboro, NC @ Cone Denim Arts Center
17 - Dover, DE @ Firefly Music Festival
18 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
19 - Hampton Beach, NH @ Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom
21 - New York, NY @ Terminal 5
23 - Clifton Park, NY @ Upstate Concert Hall
24 - Rochester, NY @ Rochester International Jazz Festival
25 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
28 - Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird Nightclub
29 - Milwaukee, MI @ Summerfest
14 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
15 - Columbus, OH @ PromoWest Festival
16 - Kansas City, KS @ Sporting Park Stadium - KRBZ's Annual Beach Buzz Ball
17 - North Birmingham, AL @ Sloss Music & Arts Festival
19 - New Orleans, LA @ Civic Theater
20 - Little Rock, AR @ Metroplex
22 - Tulsa, OK @ Cain's
23 - Dallas, TX @ House of Blues
24 - Austin, TX @ Stubb's
26 - Albuquerque, NM @ Sunshine Theater
27 - Tempe, AZ @ Marquee Theatre
18 - Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
19 - Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheater
20 - Seattle, WA @ Marymoor Park
23 - Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
24 - Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre
26 - Edmonton, AB @ Union Hall
27 - Calgary, AB @ MacEwan Hall
28 - Missoula, MT @ Big Sky Brewery
30 - Boise, ID @ Summerfield 31 - Jackson, WY @ Pink Garter Theatre
Fitz and The Tantrums are: Fitz (vocals), Noelle Scaggs (vocals/tambourine), James King (saxophone), Jeremy Ruzumna (keyboards), John Wicks (drums) and Joseph Karnes (bass).

Pre-order album HERE
Stream "HandClap" HERE
Watch "HandClap" visualizer HERE
Purchase tour tickets HERE

No comments: