Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Brandy Clark readies 'Big Day in a Small Town'

photo by Kelly Swift
I was really impressed by Clark when I caught her live on Jennifer Nettles' previous tour. I look forward to the new material...

Four time Grammy nominee and critically acclaimed singer/songwriter Brandy Clark is following up her 2013 smash debut album 12 Stories with the release of Big Day in a Small Town, to be released June 10 on Warner Bros. Records (available for pre-order beginning April 1). With “Girl Next Door" serving as the first single, Big Day in a Small Town is Clark's first major-label album. It was produced by Jay Joyce.

“When I made 12 Stories, I think my dreams were a lot more realistic, in that I didn't expect a lot to happen... then it did,” Clark says. “This time, my dreams are very much what they were when I was going to Vince Gill and Patty Loveless concerts and decided I was going to move to Nashville. Right now, my dreams are as big as when I was na├»ve enough to really dream them.”

Big Day in a Small Town tells the stories of the football star, the father, the homecoming queen, and the hairdresser because those are the stories and people that Clark grew up knowing.

“All these songs, there's some little truth in them, somewhere, that resonates with me or that is about me,” she confesses.

Currently on the road with Jennifer Nettles on the CMT Next Women of Country Tour, the singer/songwriter has toured with Eric Church and Alan Jackson during the last two years in addition to solo shows.

For upcoming tour dates, visit

The Morton, Washington-native received her first of four career GRAMMY nominations in 2013 in the Best Country Song category for co-writing the Miranda Lambert No. 1 hit “Mama’s Broken Heart.”

She won the 2014 CMA Song of the Year Award for “Follow Your Arrow,” which she co-wrote with Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves, and was also named the 2014 Music Row Breakthrough Artist of the Year. The Academy of Country Music voters nominated her for Female Vocalist of the Year in 2015.

Track list (with songwriters):

1. Soap Opera - Brandy Clark/Bryan Simpson
2. Girl Next Door - Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Shane McAnally
3. Homecoming Queen - Brandy Clark/Luke Laird/Shane McAnally
4. Broke - Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally/Josh Osborne
5. You Can Come Over - Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Mark Narmore
6. Love Can Go to Hell - Brandy Clark/Scott Stepakoff
7. Big Day in a Small Town - Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally/Mark D. Sanders
8. Three Kids No Husband - Brandy Clark/Lori McKenna
9. Daughter - Brandy Clark/Jessie Jo Dillon/Jeremy Spillman
10. Drinkin’ Smokin’ Cheatin’ - Brandy Clark
11. Since You’ve Gone to Heaven - Brandy Clark/Shane McAnally

For more information, visit 

No comments: