Friday, March 11, 2016

Latest Information Society album out now

Today, Information Society released Orders Of Magnitude, a collection of new and previously released songs that have influenced the long running, inventive synthpop act. 
Among the selections are the Winnie The Pooh song "Heffalumps and Woozles," Heaven 17's "(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang," The Human League's "Don't You Want Me," Fad Gadget's "State Of The Nation," Sesame Street track "Capital I" and more. See full track listing below.
Back story:
Founded by producer/songwriter Paul Robb and vocalist/songwriter Kurt Larson, the group quickly drafted bassist James Cassidy and went on to storm the club charts in the mid '80s with "Running." Inspired by the worldwide response to the single, the group moved to New York to record their major label debut, Information Society, for Tommy Boy/Reprise. 

The group went on to release the albums Hack and Peace And Love, Inc. and numerous hits, notably the #1 "What's on Your Mind (Pure Energy)," as well as "Walking Away," "Think," "Repetition," and "Peace and Love, Inc." National and international tours followed; outside the United States the group is particularly popular in South America, Spain, and Japan.

Departing Tommy Boy/Reprise Records in the mid-'90s, the group returned to its electro-industrial roots on several independent releases. Kurt Larson took the artistic helm of the group in 1997, and released Don't Be Afraid, which explored the darker recesses of the band's musical imagination.
In the early 2000s, re-releases of both "Running" and "What's on Your Mind" reached #1 on the Billboard Dance/Club chart. This renewed interest in the band served as a catalyst for a new round of songwriting, and an EP of new material, entitled Oscillator was released in 2005, followed by the full-length album Synthesizer in 2007.

Summer 2013 found the three original members - Kurt, Paul and James - reunited to discuss working on a new album and the result, _hello world, the first new album of new material from the original lineup in over 20 years, was the offspring. The success of _hello world inspired another round of recording, this time each member explored their influences and inspirations and pooled their ideas to form the nucleus of a "covers album".

Track listing:

Praying To The Aliens
(We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thang
Heffalumps And Woozles
State Of The Nation
Kiss You All Over
Beautiful World
Capital I
Don't You Want Me
Man In The Dark Sedan
Me And My Rhythm Box

No comments: