Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Dwight Yoakam sideman Brian Whelan to release new album

Having reviewed Yoakam several times on his tour for Three Pears (see elsewhere on this blog), I can attest that Whelan is definitely worth a listen...
Singer/songwriter and former Dwight Yoakam multi-instrumentalist, Brian Whelan is set to release his sophomore solo album, Sugarland, on March 25. Co-Produced by fellow Yoakam-ite and current drummer Mitch Marine, alongside Lee Pardini, Whelan, a music school graduate from USC, plays almost anything with keys or strings -- steel guitar, accordion, piano. For Sugarland, he employs a series of various musical instruments on the pop rock tunes.

After graduating from USC, Whelan began a long journey as a sideman accompanying such artists as Eugene Edwards, Scot Bruce, The Broken West, Apex Manor, Randy Weeks, Mike Stinson, Tony Gilkyson, KISS, Chuck Berry, Jim Lauderdale and most recently, Yoakam. Then in 2012, Whelan released his debut solo album, “Decider,” which garnered much critical acclaim.

Track listing:

1. Americana
2. Sugarland
3. The Only Thing
4. Suckerpunch
5. Go Dancing
6. No. 1 Fan
7. We Got it All
8. Talk to Me
9. Stand in Your Light
10. The Bottom

Upcoming dates:

Jan 27 - Music City Roots - Franklin, TN
Mar 23 - Under the Volcano – Houston, TX
Mar 24 – Venue TBA – Ft. Worth, TX
April 1 - Pappy and Harriets - Joshua Tree, CA
April 3 - Grand Ole Echo - Los Angeles, CA (Album Release Show)

More U.S. dates to be announced shortly.

No comments: