Friday, January 15, 2016

Details on HBO drama 'Vinyl' soundtrack

Atlantic Records and Warner Bros. Records have unveiled details relating to Vinyl, the new HBO drama series from Executive Producers Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger, and Terence Winter.

“Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series – Vol. 1,” a full length musical companion to the series’ premiere episode, is set to arrive in stores and at all digital retailers and streaming services on Feb. 12 ahead of the series premiere, Sunday, Feb. 14 exclusively on HBO.

A new digital EP will then be released every subsequent Friday with music featured in that week’s upcoming episode. This first-of-its-kind slate of musical offerings will culminate with a second full-length soundtrack, “Vinyl: Music from the HBO Original Series Vol. 1: Finale,"   to be released both physically and digitally and on all streaming services on April 15 coinciding with the season finale, airing April 17.

Informed by Scorsese’s renowned innovative use of music in film and Jagger’s intimate insight on the era, the album contains new and previously released material - all featured in the season premiere - from an array of rising stars and legendary artists, including David Johansen, who revitalizes a pair of classics by his seminal group the New York Dolls with re-recordings exclusively for the series.

Original highlights include “No Good,” the breakout rock single from Elektra/Atlantic recording artist Kaleo that was featured in the latest show trailer, and “Sugar Daddy (Theme From Vinyl),” the series’ main title and first new music from Grammy Award-nominated, Atlantic recording artist Sturgill Simpson (see attached track listing).

The soundtrack further showcases material featured in the series premiere, including the original song “Rotten Apple,” co-written by show co-star James Jagger along with Mick Jagger, Luis Felber and James Dunson, and performed by Nasty Bits, a band featured in the show that is fronted by James Jagger.

Additional highlights include tracks from Soda Machine and Vintage Trouble’s Ty Taylor – who has also been cast as the singing voice of the series’ character Lester Grimes. The soundtrack also captures the electric energy of New York City in the 1970s via a bounty of indelible pop, rock, disco, and soul favorites from such iconic stars as Otis Redding, Foghat, Jimmy Castor Bunch, Dee Dee Warwick, Edgar Winter, The Meters, and much more.

Likewise, each week will bring a robust slate of new content in the form of musical offerings tied to every episode throughout the season. The aforementioned series of eight EPs will each feature an exciting combination of original tracks written and produced exclusively for the series, vintage songs from the period re-recorded by contemporary artists, and a wealth of catalog favorites, all either appearing in or inspired by music in that week’s episode. 

Some of the artists contributing recordings include Charlie Wilson, Iggy Pop, Chris Cornell, Julian Casablancas, Charli XCX, Jesse J, Nate Ruess, Royal Blood, Jess Glynne, Trey Songz, The Arcs, DJ Cassidy, Alex Newell, and many more. Additionally, multiple promotional music videos tied to tracks found on the soundtracks and featured in the show will be unveiled throughout the season.

Track listing:

1. Ty Taylor - The World Is Yours
2. David Johansen - Personality Crisis
3. Kaleo - No Good
4. Sturgill Simpson - Sugar Daddy (Theme from Vinyl)
5. Ruth Brown - Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean
6. Otis Redding - Mr. Pitiful
7. Dee Dee Warwick - Suspicious Minds
8. Mott the Hoople - All The Way From Memphis
9. David Johansen - Stranded In The Jungle
10. Chris Kenner - I Like It Like That
11. Ty Taylor - Cha Cha Twist
12. The Jimmy Castor Bunch - It’s Just Begun
13. Soda Machine - Want Ads
14. The Meters - Hand Clapping Song
15. Soda Machine – Slippin’ Into Darkness
16. Edgar Winter - Frankenstein
17. Nasty Bits - Rotten Apple
18. Foghat - I Just Want To Make Love To You

No comments: