Monday, September 16, 2013

The Killers retrospective due

In celebration of their first decade together, The Killers will release Direct Hits on Nov. 11 through Island Records.

It features singles from all four albums, plus two new songs. The first, “Shot At The Night,” was recorded with M83’s Anthony Gonzales and is available this week.

Shot in Las Vegas, the video for the song was directed by Robert Schober and was  “Just Another Girl” was produced by long time Killers collaborator Stuart Price, who also helmed 2008’s Day & Age.

The Killers have also prepared a special Fan Deluxe Edition that will contain the Deluxe CD, a documentary DVD of The Killers career, as well as 5 10- inch vinyl records comprising all songs on Direct Hits.

Direct Hits (Deluxe Edition) will additionally feature the original demo of “Mr Brightside” and a new remix of “When You Were Young” by Calvin Harris, as well as Battle Born’s “Be Still.”

Back in September 2003, four young men from Las Vegas left America for the first time to play their first ever London show, appearing fourth on the bill at Camden’s Dublin Castle. It was the first time they had played a gig outside of North America.

Fast forward to 2013, that band – The Killers – has gone on to sell over 20 million albums worldwide, headlined festivals across the globe, performed at The White House, and picked up myriad awards.

Each of The Killers’ four studio albums has yielded some of the most amazing songs of the last decade, and, this summer, amidst various festival headlining shows all over the world, they reached a summit very few artists have ever managed: headlining Wembley Stadium to an ecstatic capacity crowd of 70,000.

These shows ranged from headlining this year’s Lollapalooza to commanding the stage at Wembley.
Track Listing:

1. Mr Brightside
2. Somebody Told Me
3. Smile Like You Mean It
4. All These Things That I’ve Done
5. When You Were Young
6. Read My Mind
7. For Reasons Unknown
8. Human
9. Spaceman
10. A Dustland Fairytale
11. Runaways
12. Miss Atomic Bomb
13. The Way It Was
14. Shot At The Night
15. Just Another Girl

Deluxe Version:

16. Mr. Brightside (Original Demo)
17. When You Were Young (Calvin Harris Remix)
18. Be Still

**Plus a never-before-seen Killers Documentary DVD**

No comments: