Monday, September 16, 2013

Eric Hutchinson’s new free live album

Almost Solo In NYC, Eric Hutchinson’s new live album, is out now – and it’s free to the first 1 million fans who tweet or post to Facebook using the service Pay with a Tweet, hashtag #1MillionHutch.

Pay with a Tweet enables people to download the album for free, simply by tweeting or sharing a link to the promotion on Facebook. Fans can get their copy of Almost Solo In NYC on

Eric will celebrate the release with two special performances: an evening at 3rd and Lindsley in Nashville on Oct. 3, and a hometown show at Rockwood Music Hall in New York City on Oct. 9.

Almost Solo In NYC was recorded live during Hutchinson’s fall 2012 acoustic outing, which brought Eric and his longtime band member, multi-instrumentalist Elliott Blaufuss, to intimate – and sold out – venues across North America.

The album contains live versions of five fan favorites – including the RIAA-Gold certified hit “Rock & Roll,” “OK, It’s Alright With Me,” and “Watching You Watch Him” – plus one new tune (“Shine On Me”) and a Police cover (“Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic”).

As any fan will attest, Eric’s shows are all about the music…and the monologues. Almost Solo captures four Hutchinson tales. The hit song “Watching You Watch Him,” for example, is followed by the vignette “Watching You Eat Shrimp,” where Hutchinson sings about selling out to Red Lobster.

Hutchinson tells how he learned how to play his own song on YouTube (“Emo in College”) and talks about writing his songs while annoying his New York City neighbors (“I’m a Foot Stomper”). And on “Amsterdam,” Eric gets high and takes a hilarious path to finding the inspiration for his new song, “Shine On Me." 

Check out this animated video of Eric’s adventures in Amsterdam:

Until the million shares are surpassed, no amount of money can buy a copy of Almost Solo In NYC. And that’s just fine by Eric.

“I couldn't sleep after the first show on The Almost Solo Tour, it was such a buzz doing the songs stripped and just hanging out with the audience. I wanted to do this forever. Just the audience and the music. So, I recorded a live album on the tour,” says Hutchinson. “I love the idea of giving this album away for free as a thank you to all the amazing people who have supported me through the years. But only to the first 1 million people. If you're number 1,000,001, well, you're out of luck. You should've downloaded it earlier!”

Over the course of two full-length albums – Sounds Like This, which entered Billboard’s Heatseekers chart at No. 1 in 2007, and 2012’s Moving Up Living Down, which debuted in the top 30 of the Billboard 200 – Hutchinson has scored three Top 10 hits at Triple A radio and two Top 20 tracks at the Adult Contemporary format. He is currently working on the follow up to Moving Up Living Down.

Track Listing

1) Ok, It's Alright With Me
2) I'm a Foot Stomper *
3) Watching You Watch Him
4) Watching You Eat Shrimp *
5) Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
6) Emo in College *
7) Breakdown More
8) Outside Villanova
9) Amsterdam *
10) Shine On Me
11) Rock & Roll
· spoken word track

Upcoming Shows

10/3 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd and Lindsley
10/9 – New York City, NY @ Rockwood Music Hall

No comments: