Tuesday, February 26, 2013

In stores today: The Mavericks, Moody Blues' Justin Hayward

Here's the lowdown on two new albums available today. I've heard The Mavericks' title and it is an excellent reunion effort. As a Moody Blues fan, I'm looking forward to hearing Hayward's material...

Close to 20 years after their first major label release and several subsequent awards, The Mavericks are back with a new album, In Time.

Frontman Raul Malo co-produced it with Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Warren Zevon) while bandmates Robert Reynolds, Paul Deakin, Jerry Dale McFadden and Eddie Perez created the alluring sound (see previous entry on this blog for track details).

The guys stopped by Nashville’s United Record Pressing as the vinyl version was manufactured. Watch the action here:

Last month, In Time was a Top 20 debut in Australia and in the UK, the album just hit #2 on iTunes UK Country store and is the #1 best-selling country album on Amazon UK.

On Friday, they are slated to perform “Come Unto Me” on The Tonight Show With Jay Leno.

The multi-year GRAMMY, ACM and CMA Vocal Group will hit the road later this spring with their high-energy live show. See for tour dates.

Spirits Of The Western Sky is the first solo album from Justin Hayward, the longtime lead guitarist and vocalist of The Moody Blues, since 1996.

It features orchestrations by Oscar-winning composer Anne Dudley and delves into country and bluegrass territory during “What You Resist Persists,” “Broken Dream” and “It’s Cold Outside Of Your Heart.”
“Anne [Dudley] is one of the true greats,” states Hayward, “in the same rarefied class of orchestrators as Peter Knight, who was such an inspiration in my early Moody Blues days. I’ve worked with Anne on different projects over the years and it’s always a joy (when she is arranging, all the studio musicians know it’s going to be wonderful).
"I also co-wrote a song with my friend Kenny Loggins. He and I were both on the road and staying in the same hotel. We had a great day playing guitar together and we came up with ‘On The Road To Love.' Kenny plays and sings on the track with me. This album is a labor of love. It’s been my whole life for the last few years. I know we all have many choices nowadays and I thank everyone who gives my album a listen and brings these songs into their collection. Every track is truly from my heart."
1) In Your Blue Eyes  
2) One Day, Someday  
3) The Western Sky  
4) The Eastern Sun  
5) On The Road To Love  
6) Lazy Afternoon  
7) In The Beginning  
8) It’s Cold Outside Of Your Heart  
9) What You Resist Persists  
10) Broken Dream  
11) Captivated By You  
12) One Day, Someday (Alternative Extended Version)  
13) Rising  
14) Out There Somewhere  
15) Out There Somewhere (Raul Rincon Remix)

No comments: