Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Redd Kross reunion album due this summer

Redd Kross returns with Researching the Blues, its first new album in 15 years, on Aug. 7, through Merge Records. The songs were written by Jeff McDonald and produced/mixed by his brother Steven. 

“It has the most singular artistic vision of any record we’ve done," Steven says. "It’s just 10 really fucking awesome songs that have the ability to move you in many different ways.”
Founded 34 years ago in Los Angeles during the first wave of LA punk rock by the brothers  (then 15 and 11 years old), Redd Kross cut their teeth opening for Black Flag at a middle school graduation party.

Their debut recordings caught the attention of Rodney Bingenheimer, who quickly became a fan as he spun their Ramones-inspired songs like “Annette's Got The Hits” and "I Hate My School" on the world-famous KROQ/106.7 FM.
In 2006, Jeff and Steven announced their reunion with the classic Neurotica line-up, joined once again by guitarist Robert Hecker and drummer Roy McDonald (The Muffs).

Redd Kross have been playing to enthusiastic audiences at select sold-out shows and festivals such as the Azkena, Coachella; The Hoodoo Gurus’ Invitational, All Tomorrow's Parties and Pop MontrĂ©al.

More Redd Kross tour dates to come this year.
Track List:
1. Researching the Blues
2. Stay Away From Downtown
3. Uglier
4. Dracula’s Daughters
5. Meet Frankenstein
6. One of the Good Ones
7. The Nu Temptations
8. Choose to Play
9. Winter Blues
10. Hazel Eyes
Redd Kross is:
Jeff McDonald – Vocals, Guitars
Steven McDonald – Bass, Vocals
Roy McDonald – Drums
Robert Hecker – Guitars

No comments: