Friday, May 11, 2012

Lenny Kravitz 'Mama Said' reissue on the way

Lenny Kravitz’s platinum 1991 album, Mama Said, has been digitally remastered and expanded for a special deluxe edition to be released on June 5 (June 4 outside of North America) by Virgin/EMI.

The 2CD and digital album adds 21 bonus tracks to the album’s original line-up, including 15 previously unreleased recordings from Kravitz’s personal archive. 
Kravitz's Mama Said spawned a seven singles at various radio formats, including “Always On The Run,” “It Ain’t Over Til It’s Over” and "Fields of Joy."
Among the deluxe edition’s previously unreleased recordings are several unfinished songs from the Mama Said album sessions, as well as home demos from late in the Let Love Rule era, which would later be finished for inclusion on Mama Said.

Others, including “Riding On The Wings Of My Lord” and “Framed, Lying, Crying,” would not be released in any form - until now.  Also included is the previously unreleased “It Ain’t Over Til It’s Over” remix 12” (sides A and B) and an unissued five-song live EP recorded in Rotterdam during the Mama Said tour. Official live and studio B-sides are also included, completing the commemorative reissue of this epic classic album.
Lenny Kravitz: Mama Said (Deluxe Edition) [2CD, Digital]
* = Previously unreleased
1.         Fields of Joy
2.         Always on the Run
3.         Stand by My Woman
4.         It Ain't Over 'Till It's Over
5.         More Than Anything in This World
6.         What Goes Around Comes Around
7.         The Difference Is Why
8.         Stop Draggin' Around
9.         Flowers For Zoe
10.        Fields of Joy (Reprise)
11.        All I Ever Wanted
12.        When the Morning Turns to Night
13.        What The .... Are We Saying?
14.        Butterfly
15.        Light Skin Girl From London
16.        I’ll Be Around
17.        Always On The Run (Instrumental)
18.        It Ain't Over Til It's Over (12” Remix Instrumental)*
19.        It Ain't Over Til It's Over (12" Extended/Dub version)*

1.         Riding On The Wings Of My Lord (Rough Demo)*
2.         It Ain’t Over Til It’s Over (Home Demo)*
3.         What The .... Are We Saying (Home Demo) *
4.         The Difference Is Why (Home Demo)*
5.         Riding On The Wings Of My Lord (Funky Vocal)*
6.         Riding On The Wings Of My Lord (Instrumental)*
7.         Framed, Lying, Crying (Instrumental Segue)*
8.         Stand By My Woman (Instrumental)*
9.         Stop Draggin' Around (Live in Rotterdam)*
10.        Always On The Run (Live in Rotterdam)*
11.        Fields Of Joy (Live in Rotterdam)*
12.        Stand By My Woman (Live in Rotterdam)*
13.        More Than Anything In This World (Live in Rotterdam)*
14.        Always On The Run (live in Japan)
15.        Stop Draggin' Around (live in Japan)
16.        What The... Are We Saying? (live in Japan)

No comments: