Tuesday, February 21, 2012

David Sylvian compilation coming in April

Due out April 3 on EMI, “A Victim Of Stars, 1982 – 2012,” brings together material from the last 30 years of David Sylvian’s solo career, encompassing material released with Virgin Records, more recent work released on his own label samadhisound and a brand new recording exclusive to this compilation.
On his solo records of the '80s, Sylvian's explorations in music took him from the pop-funk, stylish jazz and windswept exotica of 1984s Brilliant Trees; the ambient landscapes and epic ballads of 1985's "Gone To Earth"; and the romantic orchestrations of 1987's "Secrets of the Beehive." His collaborators included leaders of progressive music, from jazz men such as Mark Isham, John Taylor and Kenny Wheeler to the rock and fusion guitarists Robert Fripp, Bill Nelson, and David Torn.
Regular collaborations with composer and Yellow Magic Orchestra star Ryuichi Sakamoto yielded Sylvian's first international hit "Forbidden Colours,” along with “Bamboo Houses” and “Bamboo Music”.
In the early '90s, Sylvian embarked on a series of acclaimed tours with Robert Fripp, leading to their 1993 studio release "The First Day." 1991 saw the release of Rain Tree Crow, a Japan reunion under a different name. But Sylvian grew less prolific as the decade wore on, taking four years to finish 1999's "Dead Bees On A Cake." "Dead Bees" included the hit single "I Surrender," where Sylvian crafts an eye-openingly beautiful vessel around his spiritual journey.
His determination to confront his vulnerabilities led to arguably his most powerful album to date, 2003’s "Blemish." More recently, he has also released "Snow Borne Sorrow and Money for All," an LP and EP from the band Nine Horses. Nine Horses is a trio that includes his brother and regular collaborator Steve Jansen and electronica artist Burnt Friedman, as well as contributions from singer Stina Nordenstam, trumpeter Arve Henriksen, and Ryuichi Sakamoto on piano.
In 2009, the project that began in Blemish continued with "Manafon," an album that assembled the world’s leading free improvisers, including Evan Parker, Keith Rowe, Fennesz, Sachiko M, Otomo Yoshihide, and John Tilbury, among several others. Completing the source material for the compilation is his most recent release "Died In The Wool," made up of variations on "Manafon" and including collaborations with acclaimed composer Dai Fujikura, producers Jan Bang and Erik Honoré and a stellar roster of contemporary musicians and improvisers.
Track Listing
Ghosts (Remix)                                                                 
Bamboo Houses                                                               
Bamboo Music                                                                  
Forbidden Colours                                                           
Red Guitar                                                                         
The Ink In The Well                                                           
Pulling Punches                                                                
Taking The Veil                                                                 
Silver Moon                                                                       
Let The Happiness In                                                       
Pop Song                                                                           
Every Colour You Are                                                      
Heartbeat (Tainai Kaiki II)                                               

Jean The Birdman                                                            
Alphabet Angel                                                                
I Surrender                                                                       
Darkest Dreaming                                                           
Fire In The Forest                                                             
The Only Daughter                                                           
Late Night Shopping                                                        
Wonderful World                                                               
The Banality Of Evil                                                          
Darkest Birds                                                                        
Snow White in Appalachia                                              
Small Metal Gods                                                           
I Should Not Dare                                                           
Where’s Your Gravity?*                                                            
*New track

No comments: