Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Greg Laswell news

I had a great interview with adult rock singer/songwriter Laswell for his last album. Read below for some info on his latest...

Greg Laswell's fourth full length album Landline will be released April 24 on Vanguard Records. The self-produced new tracks were recorded in a church-turned-house in a small lobstering town in Maine. The album's title was inspired by the fact that the home-recording-studio had no cell-phone reception, forcing Laswell to use landlines for all of his calls.

Guest singers include Ingrid Michaelson, Sia, Elizabeth Ziman (of Elizabeth and the Catapult) and Sara Bareilles (on the album's lead single, "Come Back Down"). Inspired by hip-hop records that he was listening to while writing and recording the album, Laswell decided he wanted to work with and feature female vocals alongside his own. Each singer brings a new element and personality to the songs, whether it's Bareilles' energy that caused Laswell to need to re-record his vocals, or the fact that he co-wrote the album's title track with Ingrid Michaelson when the power went out one night.

Laswell's songs have won over several of film and television's top music supervisors, who have featured his songs in films such as Friends With Benefits and My Sister's Keeper, and television placements in the season premieres of CBS' NCIS and NBC's Parenthood, as well as ten individual placements on ABC's hit drama Grey's Anatomy.

Landline Track Listing
1. Come Back Down (feat. Sara Bareilles)
2. I Might Drop By
3. Another Life To Lose
4. Eyes on You
5. Back To You (feat. Elizabeth Ziman)
6. Late Arriving
7. Dragging You Around (feat. Sia)
8. Nicely Played
9. New Year's Eves
10. It's Settled Now
11. Landline (feat. Ingrid Michaelson)

No comments: