Monday, March 25, 2019

UK band Editors deconstruct latest album

Editors announce the release of The Blanck Mass Sessions for Record Store Day 2019. It is an electronica-based alternate version of their acclaimed top 10 album Violence and will come out on limited edition color vinyl April 13. A general release on May 3 via Play It Again Sam follows.

The eight track album, made up of producer Blanck Mass’ original productions of Violence, also includes the new single "Barricades," with a video created by Bristol based Hi-Sim Studios. Watch it HERE.

In 2017, Editors invited producer Benjamin John Power, aka Blanck Mass, to deconstruct the recordings that were to be the building blocks of Violence, and reassemble them as electronica. The band then enlisted producer Leo Abrahams to find the middle ground between the two recordings. While this fusion of the three creative influences went on to become Violence, Benjamin’s versions remained worthy of their own release.

Frontman Tom Smith explains: “When we initially approached Ben to work with us on Violence we gave him free reign to do whatever he wanted. It seemed stupid to try and instill any boundaries or direction to him as he has such a singular, authored sound to everything he puts his hand to... so we left him to it. The results of that process being this release. A very visceral version of our album Violence.”

Violence was another top 10 record that added to their back catalogue, which includes two #1 albums and 3 UK platinum certifications. A sold out UK tour culminating in an acclaimed show at O2 Academy Brixton followed by festival performances, including supporting The Cure at BST in Hyde Park and headlining the Werchter Classic, topping a bill that also contained Kraftwerk and The National.

Pre-order The Blanck Mass Sessions HERE

Track listing:

1. Barricades
2. Cold
3. Hallelujah (So Low)
4. Violence
5. Darkness At The Door
6. Nothingness
7. Magazine
8. Counting Spooks

No comments: