Wednesday, July 23, 2014

M83 catalog gets reissued

Four years on from the Grammy nominated, critically acclaimed release Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming (featuring platinum selling single “Midnight City”), French electronic act M83 re-issues their first three albums in addition to two digital EPs featuring remixes and B-sides from those albums.

After several years of being out of print, M83 (2001), Dead Cities, Red Seas, and Lost Ghosts (2004), and Before the Dawn Heals Us (2005) will be released Aug. 25 on CD, vinyl, and digital download via Mute.

Dead Cities, Red Seas and Lost Ghosts Remixes and B-sides and Before The Dawn Heals Us Remixes and B-Sides will be available digitally Sept. 9 on Mute.

Since Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, not only has M83’s Anthony Gonzalez scored two films: Oblivion (featuring Tom Cruise) and You and the Night (directed by his brother Yann Gonzalez), but his music has been used in movies, television shows and commercials, most recently in films The Fault In Our Stars, The Vampire Diaries, and 22 Jump Street. 

At radio, M83 reached #1 on the CMJ charts, #1 at Commercial Specialty, and #5 in Commercial Alternative Radio.

M83 served as the French electropop outfit’s debut release in 2001 on Gooom. Recorded as a duo by founding members Anthony Gonzalez and Nicolas Fromageau, the track names can be read in order to describe a boy/girl meeting at a party. 

Track listing:

Last Saturday
At The Party
Facing That
Violet Tree
Staring At Me
I’m Getting Closer
She Stands Up
My Face
I’m Happy She Said

Dead Cities, Red Seas, and Lost Ghosts was M83’s second release, and first to be released in the US, on Mute. Originally released in 2003 in Europe, Mute released the album in 2004 in North America to critical acclaim. This was the last album featuring Nicolas Fromageau.

Track listing: 

Run Into Flowers
In Church
On A White Lake, Near A Green Mountain
Be Wild
Beauties Can Die

Before The Dawn Heals Us is M83’s third studio album. M83 saw their first major television commercial with “Don't Save Us From The Flames” featured in a Pontiac ad. 2005 also saw M83 perform at the prestigious Lollapalooza, Coachella, Austin City Limits, and headlining KEXP’s Benefit Concert in Seattle.   

Track listing:
Don’t Save Us From The Flames
In The Cold I’m Standing
Farewell Goodbye
Fields Shorelines and Hunters
I Guess I’m Floating
Teen Angst
Can’t Stop
Let Men Burn Stars
Car Chase Terror
Slight Night Shiver
A Guitar And A Heart
Lower Your Eyelids To Die With The Sun

Containing all remixes and B-sides from the Dead Cities, Red Seas and Lost Ghosts release, this collection features the notable Cyann and Ben Version of “In Church” used in Stranger Than Fiction.

Track listing:

Dead Cities, Red Seas & Lost Ghosts
God of Thunder
Gone (Live)
In Church (Cyann & Ben Version)
Run Into Flowers (Abstrackt Keal Agram Remix)
Run Into Flowers (Midnight Fuck Remix by Jackson)
Run Into Flowers (IG FarbenVorschlang Remix by KG)

Before The Dawn Heals Us Remixes and B-Sides combines material from the album’s single releases, including the rapturous B-side “Until The Night Is Over,” an acoustic version of “Night” from the self-titled debut. 

Track listing:
Addicted to Self Mutilation
Until The Night Is Over
Teen Angst (Montag Remix)
Don’t Save Us From The Flames (Boom Bip Remix)
Don’t Save Us From The Flames (Superpitcher Remix)

No comments: