Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Paper Route displays some 'Real Emotion'

Nashville-based alt-rock trio Paper Route just released their third full-length album, Real Emotion. Blending digital-age pop/rock with ambient vocals, the 16-track album -- produced and written by JT Daly (vocals, keyboards, percussion), Chad Howat (bass, piano, programming), Nick Aranda (guitar) -- is available now on all digital platforms and double vinyl (purchase links below).

To celebrate, the trio hosted an album release party last week in Nashville, where they played an intimate stripped down performance of new songs, featuring members of the Blood Orchestra. The performance was live streamed on their Facebook and took place inside an art installation the band conceived and built based on the lyrics and imagery of their new album. More info on the creation of the band's installation below.

Real Emotion -- featuring singles "Laugh About It,""Chariots,""Balconies"and "Writing On The Wall"-- marks the band's third full-length album and first with Kemosabe Records/Sony Music Ent. Current single "Chariots" is at Alternative radio nationwide, premiered at E3 this summer as the official track for the FIFA 17 - Official Gameplay Trailer (over 6 million views) and has been featured on three of Spotify's top playlists New Noise, Indie Pop and FIFA 17 Soundtrack. The band partnered with BAEBLE MUSIC (8/11) to premiere their animation lyric video for "Chariots".

With Real Emotion, the band's creative vision didn't end with the music. When the time came to select artwork for the album cover, main lyricist and frontman JT Daly, a lifelong artist, found visual inspiration from the themes emerging within the new music. Using mixed materials--prints, paint, and items such as an old TV, cassette boombox radio, playing cards, flowers and a bowl of pill capsules--Daly and his longtime collaborative art partner Micah Bell crafted an immersive art installation, with all surrounding walls and floor draped with several individual pieces, each inspired by a track off Real Emotion. The album cover is a photograph of Paper Route actually inside the room installation. Video clip documenting the making of the art installation here:

"The album title, Real Emotion, comes from a conversation I had with author David Dark about mental health," Daly explains. "How it can be embarrassing when those closest to you witness the real you, and the struggle of balancing everyday life. How it might almost seem fake but it is very real. It's a real emotion. The album art is a visual expression of these emotions."

Paper Route first conjured up their melody-driven take on electronic-leaning alt-rock in 2004. Over the next few years, the band split their time between touring with arena-filling acts like Paramore and sharing smaller stages with the likes of Thurston Moore and Mark Kozelek (their fellow performers at SXSW 2008's Lou Reed tribute show). They released their full-length debut Absence in 2009 and their second LP The Peace Of Wild Things in 2012. World tours with Imagine Dragons, Passion Pit and Mutemath ensued.

A new tour starts in late October. For tickets and full list of shows visit the band's website.

Track listing:

1. Intro
2. Writing On The Wall
3. Pretend
4. Chariots
5. Untitled
6. Blue Collar Daydream
7. Real Emotion
8. Mona Lisa
9. Second Place
10. Laugh About It
11. Lara
12. Zhivago
13. Bleary
14. Balconies
15. Love Is Red (with Every Shade Of Blue)
16. Vanisher

Real Emotion available here:
Official Store:

No comments: