Wednesday, February 3, 2016

The Jayhawks return with new music after long wait

The Jayhawks long-awaited new album Paging Mr. Proust (Thirty Tigers Records) is due on April 29. Containing 11 songs, it features the longtime lineup of Gary Louris (lead vox/guitars), Marc Perlman (bass), Tim O’Reagan (drums/vox), and Karen Grotberg (keyboards/vox).
Paging Mr. Proust was co-produced by Louris, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck and Tucker Martine (The Decemberists, Modest Mouse, My Morning Jacket) and recorded at Martine’s Flora Recording & Playback in Portland, OR.
Tracks include “Quiet Corners & Empty Spaces,” “Isabel’s Daughter,” “Lover Of The Sun,” “Lost The Summer,” “Ace” and “Comeback Kids,” while “Leaving The Monsters Behind” boasts vocals by Buck's former bandmate, Mike Mills.
“We worked harder in pre-production than any previous Jayhawks record,” says Louris, having demoed most of the songs in his home studio before extensive workshopping with the band, and eventually recording in the hospitable confines of Martine’s studio.

Tour dates:

May 13 – Madison, WI – Barrymore Theatre
May 14 – Indianapolis, IN – The Vogue Theatre
May 15 – Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Small’s
May 17 – Rocky Mount, VA – Harvester Center
May 18/19 – Philadelphia, PA – Non Comm Convention
May 20 – Louisville, KY – Headliner’s
May 21 – Bloomington, IL – The Castle Theatre
May 22 – Iowa City, IA – The Englert Theatre

No comments: