Monday, February 15, 2016

Frank Turner news

photo by JJ Medina
Lots of Frank Turner news this month, with a new odds 'n' sods release out now and a forthcoming EP. Read about both below...
Turner will release the Mittens EP, featuring a new mix of the title track plus four songs on March 4. A video for the song, starring Turner as a slow-motion Elvis, is available now HERE. The video for “Mittens” was directed by Turner’s close friend Ben Morse, who also directed Turner’s video for “The Next Storm.”

The musician launched the EP alongside a new interactive website that echoes the song’s backstory. 

“’Mittens’ is a song about taking a risk for someone and letting your guard down,” Turner says. “It's based on a real experience I had where I was bothered about not getting a reply from someone, so I got obsessed with used postcards on a visit to a thrift store in New York. In the end she never did write back, but I like to think the risk was worth it, and I learned from the experience. With that in mind, I thought it would be cool to set up a website where people can send (virtual) postcards to each other, and use the opportunity to say something meaningful, to take a risk, and see what comes back. The video ties in with all of this — and my Elvis obsession — sometimes it's still worth it, even if you lose.”

The Mittens EP is available for pre-order now. Those who pre-order will receive an instant download of the new mix of “Mittens.” The original version appears on Turner’s current album, the Butch Walker-produced Positive Songs For Negative People.

Turner is scheduled to visit the U.S. in a few weeks and will perform several shows in March. He will also take part in “An Evening of Conversation and Song” at The Concert Hall at New York Society for Ethical Culture on March 15 to celebrate the release of his tour memoir The Road Beneath My Feet. The event will feature an interview with Dan Ozzi, a Q&A from the audience, plus an acoustic performance. Please see below for all tour dates.

The Mittens EP track listing:

1. Mittens
2. Least Of All Young Caroline
3. Little Aphrodite
4. Cleopatra In Brooklyn
5. The Armadillo

Upcoming tour dates are as follows:

2/27 Hinckley, MN Grand Casino
3/14 New Haven, CT College Street Music Hall
3/15 New York, NY NY Society for Ethical Culture / book event
3/17 Gainesville, FL High Dive
3/18 Miami, FL Salty Dog Cruise with Flogging Molly

Meanwhile, the CD release of his Ten For Ten album is out now. It was originally released as a 12" companion piece to Turner’s The First Ten Years boxed set that was released in 2015 – a 7LP set that also included The First Three Years, The Second Three Years and The Third Three Years.

The three double albums contain a wealth of recorded material: Original songs, live takes, covers, digital-only tracks, songs from tribute albums, guest spots and collaborations, unreleased and unheard demos, radio sessions and other exclusive content totaling 77 songs.

Full track-listing for Ten For Ten can be found below and is available for purchase through Xtra Mile Recordings HERE. Stream the original demo of "The Ballad Of Me and My Friends" HERE.

As mentioned above, Turner will be performing as part of this year’s Flogging Molly Salty Dog Cruise during St Patrick’s Day weekend (March 18-21). This three-night, four-day floating festival aboard the Norwegian Sky will leave Miami with two stops in the Bahamas – one in Nassau and one on a private island – with performers Fishbone, Rancid, The Slackers and many more.

Information on the cruise can be found via the event’s official homepage,

Ten For Ten track listing:

1. Old Flames (Feat. Billy The Kid)
2. The Next Storm (Original Demo)
3. Hits & Mrs (Full Band Demo)
4. I Am Disappeared (Live)
5. Wessex Boy (Original Demo)
6. Atlanta Curse
7. Redemption (Matt Nasir Mix)
8. Isabel (Live)
9. Substitute (Live At The BBC)
10. The Ballad Of Me and My Friends (Original Demo)

No comments: