Thursday, March 20, 2014

The Walkmen's singer has new CD, tour on tap

Hamilton Leithauser's debut solo album Black Hours will arrive via Ribbon Music on May 6 (North America) and May 5 (rest of the world). The Walkmen front man collaborated with Rostam Batmanglij (Vampire Weekend), Paul Maroon (The Walkmen), Morgan Henderson (Fleet Foxes) and Richard Swift (The Shins/solo).

He will play 4 special shows over 2 nights at Joe’s Pub in New York City on April 15-16 where Black Hours will be premiered live.

The video for the first single “Alexandra” was directed by SXSW Film Festival Grand Jury award winning director Tristan Patterson. The track was co-written by Leithauser and Batmanglij, the latter producing and mixing the track. It will be available as a 7" on Record Store Day (April 19) backed with an exclusive track “In The Shallows.”

Batmanglij played guitar, harpsichord, piano, bass and harmonica; Henderson added marimba and upright bass; Swift was on drums on several tracks (Henderson and Swift will be accompanying Leithauser on a full U.S. tour). Amber Coffman from The Dirty Projectors provides backing vocals on several numbers and Hugh McIntosh of Leithauser’s first band, the Recoys, returns to the drum stool for a pair of songs.

Black Hours will be available on CD, standard and limited edition deluxe vinyl via Ribbon Music. Pre-order the album from Ribbon Music or iTunes in standard or deluxe editions and receive an instant download of “Alexandra.” The limited edition deluxe version of the album features a bonus EP of four songs.

Meanwhile, concert info is listed immediately below.

Tour Dates 

4/15 New York, NY @ Joe’s Pub – 7:30pm
4/15 New York, NY @ Joe’s Pub – 9:30pm
4/16 New York, NY @ Joe’s Pub – 7:30pm
4/16 New York, NY @ Joe’s Pub – 9:30pm
5/6 Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
5/7 San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
5/9 Seattle, WA @ The Triple Door
5/10 Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
5/12 Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line Music Café
5/13 Chicago, IL @ Park West
5/15 Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
5/17 Washington, DC @ Sixth & I Historic Synagogue

Black Hours track listing:

1. 5 AM
2. The Silent Orchestra
3. Alexandra
4. 11 O’Clock Friday Night
5. St Mary’s County
6. Self Pity
7. I Retired
8. I Don’t Need Anyone
9. Bless Your Heart
10. The Smallest Splinter
11. Waltz [Deluxe Edition]
12. In Our Time (I’ll Always Love You) [Deluxe Edition]
13. Utrecht [Deluxe Edition]
14. I’ll Never Love Again [Deluxe Edition]

No comments: