Wednesday, March 5, 2014

George Michael's live album due this month

George Michael will release his first album in seven years when Symphonica arrives in stores March 18 on Island Records in the U.S.

It is available for pre-order now in a Standard version: and Deluxe version:

Produced by the late Phil Ramone and George Michael, the live album was recorded during the 2011-12 Symphonica tour of the UK and Europe. The first single is the ballad "Let Her Down Easy."

A studio version of "Let Her Down Easy" is the subject of a new video directed by Vaughan Arnell. To view the "Let Her Down Easy" video, go to:

The Symphonica tour found him mixing such signature tunes as "A Different Corner," "Praying For Time" and "One More Try" with "John And Elvis Are Dead" and "Through."  Michael covers swing era standard "My Baby Just Cares For Me" and the Oscar-nominated "Wild Is The Wind," popularized by a host of artists from Johnny Mathis to David Bowie.

In September 2012, the concert jaunt made history when Michael became the first contemporary pop artist to play the prestigious Palais Garnier Opera House in Paris.  A television special documenting that historic concert performance will air worldwide. It will be seen in the U.S. on April 13 on AXS TV at 8 p..m. ET (5 p.m. PT).

Ramone and Michael previously worked on the latter's 1999 album, Songs From The Last Century. Symphonica was the final work for the producer, who died in March 2013 at age 79.

Track listing:
1. Through (Live)
2. My Baby Just Cares For Me (Live)
3. A Different Corner (Live)
4. Praying For Time (Live)
5. Let Her Down Easy (Live)
6. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (Live)
7. Feeling Good (Live)
8. John and Elvis Are Dead (Live)
9.  One More Try (Live)
10. Cowboys and Angels (Live)
11. Idol (Live)
12. Brother Can You Spare a Dime (Live)
13. Wild is the Wind (Live)
14. You've Changed (Live)
15. I Remember You (Live) - digital pre-order bonus track

No comments: