Thursday, August 8, 2013

Glen Campbell's new album out soon

On Tuesday, Glen Campbell will release the new album, See You There, where he offers new takes of his hits and more. 

Released by Surfdog Records, it was produced by Dave Darling (Brian Setzer) and Surfdog founder Dave Kaplan. It also includes "There's No Me...Without You," which Campbell wrote with Julian Raymond for 2011's acclaimed Ghost On The Canvas, "What I Wouldn't Give" and "I Wish You Were Here," which were bonus tracks from Ghost and the previously unreleased "Waiting on the Comin' of my Lord," a track that was recorded during the Ghost sessions but never completed until now.

The story behind See You There echoes that of his 1967 breakthrough album, Gentle On My Mind. Both were recordings that Campbell never intended to be released as an album, sessions that occurred simply because the songs yearned to be sung.

While recording Ghost On The Canvas, Campbell found himself at a crossroads. While he forged vibrant new artistic relationships - acolytes Jakob Dylan, Paul Westerberg and Teddy Thompson penned songs for the album and it featured guest appearances by such admirers as Smashing Pumpkins' Billy Corgan, Brian Setzer and members of the Dandy Warhols - Glen simultaneously felt a tug from some of his earliest hit singles. So he laid down new vocals for these songs - and then set the tracks aside.

Shortly after the Ghost sessions concluded, Campbell was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease. Undeterred, he embarked on a series of live dates that he dubbed "The Glen Campbell Goodbye Tour." He was honored with a star-studded tribute at the Country Music Awards in 2011 and a Lifetime Achievement Award at the GRAMMY Awards in 2012.

When Dave Kaplan played Campbell's compelling takes on his classic hits, he was struck by the power of the intimate recordings. Kaplan enlisted longtime collaborator Dave Darling, and the pair decided to bring a group of musicians into the studio that would complement Glen's vocals.

"When Glen heard the results of what Dave and Dave did in reinterpreting these songs, he lit up and was smiling from ear to ear. And I was too," says Kim Campbell, Glen's wife. "This record is a more intimate and unique take on many of Glen's most popular songs as well as some other gems. The producers took the magic of his voice and showcased it with tastefully chosen instrumentation, in a whole new and different way for Glen."

Campbell titled the album See You There, an expression that's been a trademark of his for decades, but takes on an added poignancy at this stage of his life and career - as do the songs that take us back to the early days of his career.

Track Listing:

1. Hey Little One
2. Wichita Lineman
3. Gentle On My Mind
4. I Wish You Were Here
5. Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord
6. What I Wouldn't Give
7. Galveston
8. By the Time I Get to Phoenix
9. There's No Me...Without You
10. True Grit
11. Rhinestone Cowboy
12. Waiting on the Comin' of My Lord feat. Jose Hernandez & Mariachi Del Sol De Mexico

No comments: