Monday, August 5, 2013

'CBGB' movie soundtrack arrives in October

By the end of 1973, New York City was bankrupt, Watergate had compromised the credibility of the U.S. government, and the Carpenters were the best-selling young recording act in America. Rock ’n’ roll was dead!

The story of Hilly Kristal and his legendary club that put the punk back in rock will come to movie theaters in New York, LA and other select cities on Oct. 11 when CBGB hits the big screen. Omnivore Recordings will release CBGB: Original Motion Soundtrack on Oct. 8 with deluxe digital version coming the same day from Rhino

The film features an all-star ensemble cast headed by Alan Rickman, who plays Kristal. Among the costars are Malin Akerman, Johnny Galecki, Freddy Rodriguez, Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters), Donal Logue and Bradley Whitford.

Omnivore Recordings is releasing CBGB: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack on CD and double-LP (with first pressing on translucent pink vinyl). An essential collection of songs that made the punk movement, CBGB presents 20 classics of original American punk and new wave, many rarely compiled or unavailable for years. A deluxe digital exclusive version featuring an expanded track list will be available from Rhino.

The soundtrack contains music from influential artists who informed the scene, acts who broke through to huge commercial acclaim and bands whose legendary status will forever be linked to the club that gave them a voice.

Hilly Kristal dreamed of running a country and blues bar in the Bowery. Instead, the club he opened, CBGB (Country, Bluegrass, Blues) became the birthplace of punk and underground music. CBGB was the modern-day salon for the disenfranchised youth of New York City and Kristal offered these young local bands a stage.

The album contains a performance by Kristal (“Birds and the Bees”) and a new version of “Sunday Girl” by Blondie. The soundtrack CD and LP will be in stores in time for the CBGB Music Festival October 9–13, in New York:

Track Listing:

1. Life During Wartime – Talking Heads
2. Kick Out the Jams (Uncensored Version) – MC5
3. Chatterbox – New York Dolls
4. Careful – Television
5. Blank Generation – Richard Hell & The Voidoids
6. Slow Death – Flamin’ Groovies
7. I Can’t Stand It – The Velvet Underground
8. Out of Control – Wayne County & The Electric Chairs
9. Psychotic Reaction – The Count Five
10. All For the Love of Rock ’n’ Roll (Live) – Tuff Darts
11. All By Myself – Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers
12. California Sun (Original Demo) – The Dictators
13. Caught With the Meat in Your Mouth – Dead Boys
14. I Got Knocked Down (But I’ll Get Up) – Joey Ramone
15. Get Outta My Way – The Laughing Dogs
16. Sunday Girl (2013 Version) – Blondie
17. I Wanna Be Your Dog – The Stooges
18. Sonic Reducer – Dead Boys
19. Roxanne – The Police
20. Birds and the Bees – Hilly Kristal

No comments: