Tuesday, August 20, 2013

New Model Army return with new music in September

UK post punk band New Model Army will release their new studio album, Between Dog And Wolf on Sept. 30 via earMusic / Eagle Rock Entertainment. 
Originally as a three piece, New Model Army were formed in Bradford, UK in 1980 by Justin Sullivan. With songs like “51st State” and “Vagabonds,” New Model Army built a reputation for dealing with challenging topics in their lyrics such as justice, the meaning of life, nature or grievances in society. The band was led by the distinctive voice of Justin Sullivan.
Between Dog And Wolf features the current line-up of Sullivan, Michael Dean on drums, Dean White on keyboards, Marshall Gill on guitar and new bass player, Ceri Monger. 
The self-produced set was finished earlier this year. 
“After a series of purist ‘rock-band-in-a-room’ albums over the last eight years, we felt it was time to do something a bit different,” states Sullivan. “Sonically this is the best album we’ve ever made. The title comes from a medieval French expression for dusk – when it’s hard to distinguish between dog and wolf, friend or foe. That sense of contradiction represents the band very well and there’s also something of this sense of transformation in the album. It has been a stormy four years since the release of the last album. With the sudden death of our manager, the loss of our studio in a fire, subsequent theft of remaining equipment and our old bass player Nelson’s departure, we, in essence, lost everything. We used this to make a new beginning and part of the change was effected with the arrival of Ceri and the refreshing energy and musical influences he brought.  We are very excited about the new album and what the future holds for the band.”
Ceri adds  “I have loved New Model Army’s music for many years and am chuffed to be a part of this incredible album.  I think the record is pretty unique and I look forward to hearing what people think when they hear it.”
The album’s artwork is based around a painting by long time artistic collaborator Joolz.
Said Joolz, ”I always hear the albums being created from the first acoustic strum onwards and it quickly became obvious that this album was going to be different in sound from previous records.  Early on Justin saw some artwork I had designed originally for a tattoo client of mine, an image of Herne the Hunter and the Herlathing, and the primitive tribal paganism of the picture really symbolized to him the heavy pounding drum rhythms and passions that are at the heart of this album.”
Track Listing
1. Horsemen
2. March In September
3. Seven Times
4. Did You Make It Safe?
5. I Need More Time
6. Pull The Sun
7. Lean Back And Fall
8. Knievel
9. Stormclouds
10. Between Dog And Wolf
11. Qasr El Nil Bridge
12. Tomorrow Came
13. Summer Moors
14. Ghosts

No comments: