Thursday, April 5, 2012

Shawn Colvin returns

On June 5, Nonesuch Records will release All Fall Down, the new Shawn Colvin album - her eighth - and first to be produced by her longtime friend and cohort, Buddy Miller (Robert Plant.

Recorded in Nashville, with a group of stellar musicians, All Fall Down features performances by Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Jakob Dylan, Mary Chapin Carpenter and Bill Frisell, among others.
All Fall Down follows the Grammy Award winner’s 2009 solo acoustic set, Shawn Colvin Live, and her acclaimed 2006 studio record, These Four Walls.
Colvin describes All Fall Down as "an album about loss but also about redemption and resolution." It comes on the same date as William Morrow/HarperCollins publishes her memoir, Diamond In The Rough
The singer wrote or co-wrote eight of the album’s 11 tracks. “Change Is On The Way” was co-written by Miller, Emmylou Harris and Patty Griffin. “Seven Times The Charm” shares writing credits with Dylan and longtime Colvin collaborator John Leventhal, who also co-wrote “All Fall Down”, “Knowing What I Know Now,” and “The Neon Light of the Saints.”
"Saints" was written specifically for HBO’s New Orleans drama Treme and will be featured in an upcoming episode (Colvin was a guest star on the show last year). Frisell penned “Anne of the Thousand Days” with Colvin.
In the 22 years since the release of her debut album, Colvin has won three Grammy awards, released nine albums. 

All Fall Down  track list:
1. All Fall Down                                  
2. American Jerusalem                       
3. Knowing What I Know Now                     
4. Seven Times the Charm                     
5. Anne of the Thousand Days            
6. The Neon Light of the Saints
7. Change Is On the Way
8. I Don’t Know You
9. Fall of Rome
10. Up On That Hill
11. On My Own

No comments: