Monday, April 16, 2012

PiL reunion album news

Public Image Limited has confirmed their first studio album in 20 years - This is PiL - will be released on May 28.

It will be released on PiL’s own label, PiL Official, via Cargo UK Distribution. The new material was recorded in the UK last year.


A 4-track EP entitled "One Drop" will be issued for Record Store Day on April 21.

The EP is comprised of the songs "One Drop,” “I Must Be Dreaming,” “The Room I Am In” and “Lollipop Opera,” also be available on the album.

Says John Lydon, "'One Drop' is about my early youth in Finsbury Park. Fantastic! Hello, we’re all teenagers don’t you forget it! At any age, stay young. "Lollipop Opera" is basically a beautiful bunch of background noise and music to sum up Britain and all its wonderful ambidextrousness! "The Room I Am In" well that’s about drugs and council flats. And there’s a tragedy that still continues. "I Must Be Dreaming" well, you know, I must be to put up with these governments.”

Following their live performance at BBC Radio 6 Birthday Celebrations at Queen Elizabeth Hall last month, PiL also played two special shows at London’s Heaven showcasing more new tracks. The track “One Drop” has received airplay from BBC Radio 6, XFM and Absolute Radio.

Widely regarded as one of the most innovative and influential bands of all time, PiL's music and vision earned them 5 UK Top 20 Singles and 5 UK Top 20 Albums. With a shifting line-up and unique sound, John Lydon guided the band from their debut album First Issue in 1978 through 1992's That What Is Not, before a 17-year hiatus. John then resurrected PiL in 2009 playing live worldwide. Now after 20 years, yet another new and unique chapter is set to unfold in the shape of new PiL material.

Public Image Ltd. live line up/wrote and recorded the new material...

John Lydon: After fronting the Sex Pistols, John Lydon formed PiL in 1978. Outside of PiL, John has released several solo records and collaborations. He also brings quality TV to the masses.

Lu Edmonds: Multi-instrumentalist and former guitarist in The Damned Lu joined PiL in 1986 recording and playing on the album "Happy?" and co-writing the album "9" adding yet another dimension to the PiL sound.

Bruce Smith: Former drummer in The Pop Group and The Slits became percussionist for PiL also in 1986 playing and recording on the albums "Happy?" and "9." Seen as a drumming virtuoso, Bruce Smith brought his unique style into the fold.

Scott Firth: A bass player/multi-instrumentalist that has collaborated and played with a variety of top musicians and bands including Steve Winwood, John Martyn, and Elvis Costello. 

Album track listing

1. This Is PiL
2. One Drop
3. Deeper Water
4. Terra-Gate
5. Human
6. I Must Be Dreaming
7. It Said That
8. The Room I Am In
9. Lollipop Opera
10. Fool
11. Reggie Song
12. Out Of The Woods 

No comments: