Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Patti Smith news

Legendary singer/songwriter Patti Smith has announced the June 5 release of her next studio album, "Banga." This marks Smith’s first collection of original material since 2004. "April Fool," the first single, features Tom Verlaine and is available digitally now.

"Banga" was produced by Smith and her band: Tony Shanahan, Jay Dee Daugherty and Lenny Kaye. Inspired by Smith’s dreams and observations, the poetic lyrics are a reflection of our complex world – a world that is rife with chaos and beauty.

Praised for her storytelling abilities, Smith has crafted an album that captures a wide range of human experience. There is an exploratory spirit in the songs, including a melodic overture imagining the voyage of Amerigo Vespucci to the New World in 1497 ("Amerigo"), a rock song for the people of Japan in the wake of last year's earthquake ("Fuji-san"), a ballad in memory of Amy Winehouse ("This Is The Girl"), an improvised meditation on art and nature ("Constantine’s Dream") as well as a birthday song written for her friend, Johnny Depp ("Nine").

Smith received widespread recognition for her 2010 book, Just Kids, the story of her deep friendship with Robert Mapplethorpe and their effect on each other as burgeoning artists. Just Kids earned Smith the 2010 National Book Award for nonfiction as well as an enormous new following.

Track listing for "Banga":

1. Amerigo
2. Fuji-san
3. April Fool
4. This is the Girl
5. Banga
6. Maria
7. Tarkovsky (The Second Stop is Jupiter)
8. Mosaic
9. Nine
10. Seneca
11. Constantine’s Dream
12. After the Gold Rush

No comments: