Thursday, June 20, 2019

Filter’s 'Title of Record' to get reissue treatment

Craft Recordings is set to release a deluxe, 20th anniversary reissue of Filter’s platinum-selling, sophomore album Title of Record.

Due out Aug. 9, the album has been remastered and will be available on vinyl for the first time, as well as on CD and digital. All formats are expanded featuring four bonus tracks: “(Can’t You) Trip Like I Do” (originally recorded for the soundtrack Spawn The Album),“Jurassitol” (previously released on The Crow: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), plus remixes of the singles “The Best Things (Humble Brothers Remix)” and “Take a Picture (H&H Remix).”

Both the two-LP set, and CD will feature new liner notes by Bryan Reesman. The expanded digital album also offers five additional rarities, including a live version of “Take A Picture,” “The Best Things (Dub Pistols Club Mix)” and more.\

First released in 1999, Title of Record was a sonic breakthrough for the Cleveland band. Following four years as a touring guitarist for Nine Inch Nails, primary member Richard Patrick formed Filter in 1993 with guitarist and programmer Brian Liesegang. Their 1995 debut, Short Bus, blended industrial pop with post-grunge metal, and became a best-seller, thanks to the hit single “Hey Man Nice Shot.” Though Liesegang departed the band just two years later, Patrick enlisted two of his touring band members (guitarist Geno Leonardo and bassist Frank Cavanaugh), along with drummer Steven Gillis, to work with him in the studio. D’Arcy Wretzky of The Smashing Pumpkins and cellist Eric Remschneider (The Smashing Pumpkins, Veruca Salt, Plain White T’s) were also collaborators.

The recording process for Title of Record was not so straightforward. The album took over four years to record, due in part to strife between bandmates, Richard Patrick’s struggles with substance abuse, and a tumultuous affair between Patrick and Wretzky (which was anonymously woven into many of the songs on the album, including “Miss Blue,” “It’s Gonna Kill Me” and “I’m Not the Only One”). In the reissue’s liner notes, Patrick recalls, “My behavior started getting worse, and my temper would flare up. It was hard dealing with me high…and coming down from that.”

Dark as the themes were on Title of Record, the album was melodically diverse, offering a more radio-friendly sound than Short Bus, with lush, vocal harmonies, introspective lyrics and even touches of psychedelia. Perhaps the best example of this is in the album’s second single, “Take a Picture,” which would go on to become the band’s biggest hit. Written about Patrick’s inebriated antics on a plane trip, the languid melodies portrayed the musician’s state of mind at the time. “[The song had] this luscious bed of gorgeous chords and dreamy sound because itʼs what drugs feel like,” explains Patrick (who has been sober since 2002). “It was the reality of being a drug addict or an alcoholic – Iʼm either dreaming or Iʼm not.”

Upon its release, Title of Record went top 30 on the Billboard 200, and nearly a year of touring followed.

Listening to the album again, 20 years later, Patrick reflects, “'Title of Record' is Filter’s crowning achievement. Our signature album. It’s amazing how much I loved making this record even though it almost killed me.”

Following the success of Title of Record, Filter would release five more albums, while Patrick would also join The Damning Well (featuring members of Nine Inch Nails, A Perfect Circle, and Limp Bizkit) and Army of Anyone (a collaboration with brothers Dean and Robert DeLeo of Stone Temple Pilots). In 2018, it was announced that Brian Liesegang and Richard Patrick had reunited. The duo is currently working on a new album together.

Click here to stream/download the first single “Take A Picture (Live).”
Click here to pre-order Title of Record on CD or LP, exclusive bundles available at and the Craft Recordings store.

Track listing:

1. Sand
2. Welcome To The Fold
3. Captain Bligh
4. It’s Gonna Kill Me
5. The Best Things
6. Take A Picture
7. Skinny
8. I Will Lead You
9. Cancer
10. I’m Not The Only One
11. Miss Blue
12. Jurassitol
13. (Can’t You) Trip Like I Do
14. Take a Picture – H&H Remix
15. The Best Things – Humble Brothers Remix

No comments: