Friday, February 3, 2017

Bangles bassist enlists all-star help for solo album

This release sounds intriguing. Read more from the press release below...

Before touring with Dave Davies (the Kinks) and becoming bassist for the Bangles in 2008, Derrick Anderson (with the Andersons!) romped throughout Los Angeles from 1995-2004 flashing an energized, cheeky brand of pop/rock. But finally, it’s time for Derrick to arrive as a solo artist.

A World of My Own, out April 1 on Omnivore Recordings, draws inspiration from the Cavern Club, Brill Building and Laurel Canyon, and the album’s 13 songs feature guest performances from an array of kindred spirits. A World of My Own opens with the upbeat “Send Me Down a Sign” and heavy-hitting “Waiting for You,” which feature backing by the Smithereens (Pat Dinizio, Jim Babjak, Dennis Diken, and Severo Jornacion).

The sonic punch of “Waiting for You” is heightened by a panoramic mix from producer Ed Stasium. Renowned for his work with the Ramones, the Smithereens and Talking Heads, Stasium mixed two additional tracks on A World of My Own: the party-driven “Stop Messin’ About” and a wild-and-woolly cover of the Beatles’ “Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown).”

“Happiness” features stinging guitar lines by Matthew Sweet, while “A Mother’s Love” showcases incomparably lush vocals by Bob, John, and Susan Cowsill. “When I Was Your Man” combines the Bangles’ guitarist Vicki Peterson and drummer Debbi Peterson with Kim Shattuck (the Muffs, the Pandoras) on guitar and vocals. The Bangles’ Susanna Hoffs joins the Peterson sisters for backing vocals on two other songs: “Something New” and “Spring” — the latter also reuniting him with the Andersons!: guitarists Robby Rist-Anderson and Wil O’Brien-Anderson, and drummer Marc Joseph-Anderson.

According to Derrick Anderson, “I have to say, it's a beautiful thing to have such talented friends orbiting in my musical universe that I could call on once I started making this album. It was a long time coming, waiting for folks to 'turn in their homework' as it were, but I couldn't be more pleased with the results. Vicki Peterson (Bangles) listened to the record in its entirety and called it ‘timeless’ which was such a fantastic compliment, especially coming from her!”

With a chance to share the entire range of his talents in his debut, full-length album, and the help of the great friends in his extended musical “orbit,” Anderson invites you to extend your landing gear, scan the horizon and explore A World of My Own..

Track Listing:

1. Send Me Down a Sign
2. Waiting for You

3. You Don’t Have To Hurt No More

4. Something New

5. Phyllis & Sharon
6. Happiness
7. Checking Out
8. A Mother’s Love
9. My Prediction
10. Stop Messin’ About
11. When I Was Your Man
12. Spring

13. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)* 

*bonus track  

No comments: