Monday, November 7, 2016

NAMM '17 news: 'She Rocks' compilation feat. Lita Ford, Orianthi, due in January

Who says the ladies can’t rock? Favored Nations Entertainment announced the upcoming release of all-female compilation, She Rocks, Vol.1. This collection of guitar goddesses was produced by author and former Guitar World editor, Brad Tolinski with guitarist Steve Vai as executive producer, and showcases 11 female guitarists. 

From the legendary Lita Ford to Orianthi’s melodic stylings, these players each contribute their own voice to this carefully curated collection.

She Rocks, Vol.1 compilation will be released on Jan. 20 via Vai’s own Favored Nations Label, and in cooperation with the Women’s International Music Network (, host of “She Rocks Awards.” The compilation will be celebrated at the 2017 “She Rocks Awards,” taking place that evening in Anaheim, CA during the annual NAMM Convention.

“Through the years women have become more and more interested in ripping it up on the guitar. It’s amazing to watch. Favored Nations is very excited to be working with producer Brad Tolinski in creating a compilation of many of the women who are evolving the instrument in powerful ways. They are wildly raising the bar." - Steve Vai

"People always ask me about the future of the guitar, and in many ways, the artists on this album are the answer. They represent a new vision and a fresh sensibility." - Album producer, former Guitar World editor and author of Play It Loud: A History of the Electric Guitar (Doubleday), Brad Tolinski

Track listing:

1. Orianthi – “Transmogrify”
2. Yasi Hofer – “Cosmic Stars”
3. Kat Dyson – “U Know What I Like”
4. Sarah Longfield – “The Taxi Time Travel Task Force”
5. Lita Ford w/Lez Zeppelin – “The Lemon Song”
6. Jennifer Batten – “In the Aftermath”
7. Nita Strauss – “Pandemonium”
8. Steph Paynes – “The Sun at Her Eastern Gate”
9. Nili Brosh – “A Matter of Perception”
10. Gretchen Menn – “Scrap Metal”
11. Yvette Young – “Hydra” artists/sherocksvol1/  

No comments: