Friday, November 6, 2015

The Cult to bring new music into 2016

The Cult are set to put out their 10th studio album, Hidden City, on Feb. 5 via Cooking Vinyl.

Considered the final installment in a trilogy of recordings, completing 2007's Born Into This ("The Fall") and 2012's Choice of Weapon ("Dark Night of the Soul"), Hidden City is a series of experience and visions with underlying themes of redemption and rebirth.

Opening with the track "Dark Energy," Hidden City stems from the Spanish phrase "La Ciudad Oculta" or "hidden city." It reflects an awakening of consciousness through its tone and complexity.

"Hidden City is a metaphor for our spiritual lives, our intimate interior lives," explains singer Ian Astbury. "I find today's gurus are trying to peddle some cure, product or insight as if it's a new phenomenon. My place is to respond, not react, to observe, participate and share through words and music. There is no higher authority than the heart."

Produced by Bob Rock, the album was written by Astbury and guitarist Billy Duffy.

The Cult lineup comprises Ian Astbury (vocals), Billy Duffy (guitars), John Tempesta (drums), Grant Fitzpatrick (bass), Damon Fox (keyboards + rhythm guitar).

No comments: