Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Bob Dylan 1980s tribute album has ecelectic roster

ATO Records will release Bob Dylan In The 80s: Volume One on March 25. It covers the period starting with 1980's Saved and ends with 1990's Under The Red Sky (including unreleased material -- the "80s Basement Tapes" -- and The Traveling Wilburys).
Album contributors include Built To Spill, Glen Hansard, Bonnie "Prince" Billy, Langhorne Slim, Craig Finn of The Hold Steady, Deer Tick, Blitzen Trapper, Carl Broemel of My Morning Jacket and more. First track "Jokerman" by Built to Spill, is available now.
In the liner notes, New York Times best-selling author Jonathan Lethem (Motherless Brooklyn, Fortress of Solitude) writes, "In the famously difficult art of going up against Dylan's performance of his own material, a number of these reach the highest threshold. I hope Bob Dylan listens to this record, and plays it for his current touring band."

When you ask someone to name a Bob Dylan song or album from the 1980s, you usually get a blank stare in return. Bob Dylan In The 80s: Volume One helps to answer this question.

"80s Dylan is by no means a celebrated period in his career," says co-producer Lauter. "It was, in fact, the lowest point of his commercial success even though he released eight studio albums."
He continues, "Our goal was to showcase one of the greatest artists of our time during an off-rhythm period and bring a stronger sense of harmony to the material at hand. Sean and I did everything we could to make this album flow together sonically as if you were listening to a concept album."

Again, Lethem claims, "Given the benefit of decades more hindsight, our Dylan was a lot better than anyone knew...Were one to begin compiling instances of greatness in the type of songwriting that defines our esteem for the earlier Dylan - complex, suggestive, glinting, cascading constructions - you'd hit a dozen examples even before the "comeback" of Oh Mercy."

Portions of proceeds from album sales will go to the charity, Pencils of Promise, a non-profit organization that builds schools and increases educational opportunities in the developing world. The charity has built more than 150 schools in Asia, Africa and Latin America. For more information, visit


1) Langhorne Slim & The Law - "Got My Mind Made Up"(from Knocked Out Loaded, 1986)
2) Built To Spill - "Jokerman" (from Infidels, 1983)
3) Reggie Watts - "Brownsville Girl (Reprise)" (from Knocked Out Loaded, 1986)
4) Craig Finn (The Hold Steady) - "Sweetheart Like You" (from Infidels, 1983)
5) Ivan & Alyosha - "You Changed My Life" (from Shot Of Love outtakes, 1981)
6) Deer Tick - "Night After Night" (from Hearts of Fire Soundtrack, 1987)
7) Dawn Landes & Bonnie "Prince" Billy - "Dark Eyes" (from Empire Burlesque, 1985)
8) Tea Leaf Green - "Waiting To Get Beat" (from Empire Burlesque outtakes, 1985)
9) Aaron Freeman of Ween & Slash - "Wiggle Wiggle (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)
10) Elvis Perkins - "Congratulations" (from Traveling Wilburys Vol. 1, 1988)
11) Hannah Cohen - "Covenant Woman" (from Saved, 1980)
12) Marco Benevento - "Every Grain Of Sand" (from Shot Of Love, 1981)
13) Yellowbirds - "Series Of Dreams" (from Oh Mercy outtakes, 1989)
14) Blitzen Trapper - "Unbelievable" (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)
15) Lucius - "When The Night Comes Falling From The Sky" (from Empire Burlesque, 1985)
16) Glen Hansard - "Pressing On" (from Saved, 1980)
17) Carl Broemel (My Morning Jacket) - "Death Is Not The End" (from Down In The Groove, 1988)

In addition, there will be seven bonus tracks available exclusively via iTunes as a Deluxe Edition and will also be included on the digital download card that accompanies the vinyl. They are:

1) Spirit Family Reunion - "Man Of Peace" (from Infidels, 1983)
2) Widespread Panic - "Solid Rock" (from Saved, 1980)
3) Grayson Capps - "Silvio" (from Down In The Groove, 1988)
4) Neal Casal - "Property Of Jesus" (from Shot Of Love, 1981)
5) The Low Anthem - "Lenny Bruce" (from Shot Of Love, 1981)
6) Jesse Elliott (These United States) - "Handy Dandy" (from Under The Red Sky, 1990)
7) Chastity Brown - "Saving Grace" (from Saved, 1980)

No comments: