Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Upcoming Valentine's-related releases from Tina Turner, Frank Sinatra, all-star 'Sweetheart'

For the first time, Parlophone brings together a collection of Tina Turner's greatest love songs. The album spans more than three decades and includes 18 tracks selected mainly from Turner's gold and platinum solo records.

Tina Turner: Love Songs will be available Feb. 4. 

Much of it retraces Turner's comeback, which began in 1983 with Private Dancer, an album that's sold more than five million copies. This new collection includes three songs from that record, a cover of Al Green's "Let's Stay Together," the Top 10 title track, and "What's Love Got To Do With It," which stayed atop the charts for three weeks and was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2012.

Several selections from her other records released in the 1980s are also included here with "Two People" from Break Every Rule (1986) and "The Best" from Foreign Affair (1989).

Turner continued in the 1990s with "Way Of The World," a new song featured on her greatest hits collection Simply the Best (1991) and "I Don't Wanna Fight" from the soundtrack to her 1993 biopic What's Love Got To Do With It. 

To close out the decade, she released two more solo records - Wildest Dreams (1996) and Twenty Four Seven (1999). Both albums are represented on this collection by "When The Heartache Is Over" and her cover of John Waite's "Missing You."

Along with music from her solo career, there's one collaboration: "River Deep, Mountain High," the song Turner recorded with Ike Turner in 1966. It was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in '99.
Track Listing:

1.    "The Best"
2.    "I Don't Wanna Lose You"
3.    "Let's Stay Together"
4.    "What's Love Got To Do With It"
5.    "Missing You"
6.    "Private Dancer"
7.    "Two People"
8.    "Look Me In The Heart"
9.    "Way Of The World"
10.    "Why Must We Wait Until Tonight"
11.    "Falling"
12.    "I Want You Near Me"
13.    "Be Tender With Me Baby"
14.    "Don't Leave Me This Way"
15.    "I Don't Wanna Fight"
16.    "Whatever You Need"
17.    "When The Heartache Is Over"
18.    "River Deep Mountain High" - Ike & Tina Turner

On Jan. 28, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will release Sinatra, With Love, a 16-track collection of his romantic classics from the Capitol and Reprise Records catalogs. This is Universal’s second release under the newly launched “Signature Sinatra” imprint, a deal uniting Sinatra's classic Capitol and signature Reprise recordings.

Featured are timeless ballads and swingin' standards including Cole Porter's “From This Moment On” and “Just One Of Those Things,” Gershwin's “Love Is Here To Stay” and “Nice ‘N’ Easy,” “The Look Of Love,” “Moonlight Becomes You,” “(Love Is) A Tender Trap,” and “The Way You Look Tonight,” all arranged by Nelson Riddle.

Also featured are treasured renditions of “My Foolish Heart,” “It Had To Be You (featured in When Harry Met Sally),” the Johnny Mercer-penned “Something’s Gotta Give,” with an arrangement by Billy May, and “Wave,” written by Sinatra’s long-time collaborator Antonio Carlos Jobim.

Track listing:

1. Moonlight Becomes You
2. Love Is Here To Stay
3. Just One Of Those Things
4. Misty
5. Nice ‘N’ Easy
6. It Could Happen To You
7. The Way You Look Tonight
8. Love Looks So Well On You
9. (Love Is) The Tender Trap
10. I Love You
11. The Look Of Love
12. Something's Gotta Give
13. From This Moment On
14. Wave
15. It Had To Be You
16. My Foolish Heart

Sweetheart 2014 will be available on CD exclusively at Starbucks and all digital outlets from Hear Music/Concord Music Group Feb. 4.
The fifth in a series created exclusively for Starbucks, Sweetheart 2014 features 13 all-new recordings by Jim James, Vampire Weekend, Fiona Apple, Phosphorescent, Brandi Carlile, Beck, The Head and the Heart, Ben Harper, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, Valerie June, Blake Mills, Bahamas and Thao & The Get Down Stay Down.
Jim James’ soulful turn on Bob Marley’s “Turn Your Lights Down Low,” Beck’s mournful version of John Lennon’s “Love,” Fiona Apple and her sister, cabaret singer Maude Maggart’s imaginative rendering of Anton Karas’ “I’m in the Middle of a Riddle” (a song from the soundtrack to 1949’s “The Third Man”), Phosphorescent’s luminous cover of Bob Dylan’s “Tomorrow Is a Long Time” and Vampire Weekend’s interpretation of “Time to Say Goodbye [Con te partirĂ²]” made famous by Andrew Bocelli, are just a few examples.  
The performances also include Bahamas’ version of Willie Nelson’s “Always on My Mind,” Thao & the Get Down Stay Down’s cover of Ray Charles’ “If You Were Mine,” Ben Harper’s translation of Mazzy Star’s “Fade into You,” Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings’ rave up of Stevie Wonder’s classic “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours,” Brandi Carlile’s paean to Fleetwood Mac with “The Chain,” Blake Mills’ singular stamp on Bobby Charles and Stanley Lewis’s “I Hope,” The Head and the Heart’s adaptation of Harry Nilsson’s “Don’t Forget Me” and Valerie June doing the Carter Family's “Happy or Lonesome.” 
“I chose this song from Nilsson, "Don’t Forget Me," because I had recently lost touch with a very important person in my life,” confides Head and the Heart singer Josiah Johnson, its swelling strings bringing to mind the music of a bygone time.
Phosphorescent mastermind, Alabama native Matthew Houk, reflected on Dylan’s “Tomorrow Is a Long Time,” “It’s one of the most longing songs I’ve ever heard. It’s special that such a slight thing can carry so much emotion in just a few lines and chords.”
Ben Harper says of his minimalist piano reworking of Mazzy Star’s alt-rock classic “Fade Into You,” “My friend Jason Yates played piano on the original, so I always listened to that part closely. It’s one of my favorite songs and I’ve wanted to cover it forever.”
Vampire Weekend’s version of “Time to Say Goodbye (Con te partirĂ²),” made famous by the Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli, is another grand eccentricity. Calling it “one of the greatest love songs of all time,” frontman Ezra Koenig attests, “Its beauty transcends language.” Vampire Weekend transform the “poperatic” mega-hit with a deft, old school electronic rhythm and ultra-romantic Italian vocals. 
For his part, Jim James is unequivocal about the meaning of Bob Marley’s “Turn Your Lights Down Low,” stating simply, “This song is the sound of love.” He makes it his own with the signature resonance Rolling Stone once described as “echo-drenched spirituality.” Beck, meanwhile, sings and plays guitar, bass, drums and particularly affecting piano on the Plastic Ono Band-era Lennon classic “Love.” The outing recalls Beck’s own Sea Change.
Track List:
1. Turn Your Lights Down Low – Jim James (5:00)
2. Time to Say Goodbye (Con te partirĂ²) – Vampire Weekend (3:14)
3. Love – Beck (3:16)
4. Tomorrow Is a Long Time – Phosphorescent (4:19)
5. Don’t Forget Me – The Head and the Heart (4:08)
6. Happy Or Lonesome – Valerie June (1:53)
7. Always on My Mind – Bahamas (4:16)
8. If You Were Mine – Thao & the Get Down Stay Down (2:47)
9. Fade Into You – Ben Harper (4:30)
10. I’m In The Middle Of A Riddle – Fiona Apple featuring Maude Maggart (2:38)
11. The Chain – Brandi Carlile (4:17)
12. I Hope – Blake Mills (3:08)
13. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings (2:36)

No comments: