Thursday, January 10, 2013

Richard Thompson back with new music

Veteran singer/guitarist Richard Thompson returns with Electric, a guitar-driven studio album out Feb. 5 on New West Records. He will do a record release party that night at Joe’s Pub in New York City.  

Produced by Buddy Miller (Patty Griffin, Robert Plant), Electric was recorded in Nashville. Miller recently told Rolling Stone, “I played along on the record, playing rhythm guitar for [Richard], and I got a two-week guitar lesson while he camped out in my house.”
Alison Krauss joins Thompson on “The Snow Goose."
Thompson was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire in the Queen of England’s 2011 New Year Honours List. He was also recently honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Songwriting by the Americana Music Association. Thompson’s songs have been recorded by Robert Plant, R.E.M., Elvis Costello, Bonnie Raitt and others.

Electric Track Listing:
1. Stony Ground
2. Salford Sunday
3. Sally B
4. Stuck On The Treadmill
5. My Enemy
6. Good Things Happen To Bad People
7. Where’s Home?
8. Another Small Thing In Her Favour
9. Straight And Narrow
10. The Snow Goose
11. Saving The Good Stuff For You

No comments: