Wednesday, November 28, 2012

The Mavericks set full-length reunion album release date

Grammy-winning vocal group, The Mavericks, will release of In Time, their first album in seven years via Valory Music Co. on Jan. 29. The project will coincide with the band’s 20th anniversary of their first major label album. In anticipation of the new release date, the Mavericks have re-launched an all-new website at

The Mavericks' distinct sound, which has taken Country to places the genre has never been, is again evident throughout the new 14-track album which includes a bonus version of “Come Unto Me” in Spanish ("Ven Hacia Mi"). In Time was produced by lead singer Raul Malo and Niko Bolas (Neil Young, Warren Zevon).

Whether it’s the Buck Owens-influenced “Dance In The Moonlight,” the panoramic Orbison-esque
“Born To Be Blue,” the horn-punctuated retro noir “Back In Your Arms Again” or the Tejano-esque “All Over Again,” the Mavericks have once again found the way to make genre-defying soul music.

For Malo, the lead singer with the rich supple voice that’s second to only Roy Orbison in its ability to convey lonesomeness, desire and vivre; drummer Paul Deakin and multi-instrumentalist Robert Reynolds; as well as longtime collaborator keyboardist Jerry Dale McFadden and seasoned guitarist Eddie Perez, life has become richer in terms of experience, playing acumen and a sense of their own musicality. It has also deepened the connection between them in a way that heightens the singular chemistry that made the award-winning band one of the most exciting live acts in any musical genre.

The band’s high-energy concert style was most recently witnessed at the 2012 Americana Music Awards where they received a standing ovation after performing “Come Unto Me,” – a passion-fueled, seductive tune. The awards show was broadcast on a special Austin City Limits Presents: Americana Music Festival 2012. 

And last spring, as reviewed in the OC Register, they were deemed a highlight of the Stagecoach Music Festival in Indio, Calif. (see review elsewhere on blog). 

Track list:

1.Back in Your Arms Again (Raul Malo, Gary Nicholson, Seth Walker)

2. Lies (Raul Malo, Al Anderson, Bob DiPiero)

3. Born to Be Blue (Raul Malo, James House)

4. Come Unto Me (Raul Malo)

5. In Another's Arms (Raul Malo)

6. Fall Apart (Raul Malo)

7. All Over Again (Raul Malo, Al Anderson

8. Forgive Me (Raul Malo, Liz Rodrigues)

9. Amsterdam Moon (Raul Malo)

10. That's Not My Name (Raul Malo, Wally Wilson)

11. As Long As There's Loving Tonight (Raul Malo, Alan Miller, Seth Walker)

12. Call Me When You Get to Heaven (Raul Malo)

13. Dance In The Moonlight (Raul Malo, Alan Miller, Eddie Perez)

14. Call Me When You Get To Heaven (Raul Malo)

15 Ven Hacia Mi (Come Unto Me) SPANISH VERSION

No comments: