Thursday, October 18, 2012

The Civil Wars 'Unplugged' album due

On Nov. 13, Grammy award-winning duo The Civil Wars will release the audio and video from their “VH1 Unplugged” performance exclusively on iTunes.
The 7-track EP includes material from the band’s RIAA-certified gold album, Barton Hollow, as well as their song “Kingdom Come” from The Hunger Games: Songs from District 12. The release also includes never-officially-released renditions of Michael Jackson’s "Billie Jean" and Portishead’s “Sour Times” (see below for complete track-listing).
This latest release adds to an already widely successful few years for the duo, who won “Best Folk Album” and “Best Country Duo/Group Performance” at 54th annual Grammy Awards and “Duo/Group of the Year” at the 2012 Americana Music Association’s Honors & Awards. 
The band is also nominated for two CMA Awards— for “Vocal Duo of the Year” and “Musical Event of the Year” (for their collaboration with Taylor Swift on “Safe & Sound” from The Hunger Games soundtrack).
After taking a short summer hiatus following the birth of Williams’ son, the duo has resumed its world tour, including recent appearances at San Francisco’s Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival and the Austin City Limits Music Festival. Dates can be found at
1. I’ve Got This Friend
2. Kingdom Come
3. Sour Times
4. Poison & Wine
5. Barton Hollow
6. 20 Years
7. Billie Jean

No comments: