Monday, October 31, 2011

E Street Band's Lofgren solo album due

Five years have passed since the release of Nils Lofgren's last studio album of all-new songs. His forthcoming release Old School has been in the works since the end of Bruce Springsteen's Working on a Dream Tour in late 2009. It covers a variety of topics and has a tribute to Ray Charles.

"These songs reflect characters with some radical feelings and beliefs," states the singer in a press release. "They're definitely thought-provoking."

The CD -- due out on Dec. 6 -- will be his eighth studio release on Vision Music, the label also responsible for 2008's The Loner - Nils Sings Neil (an homage to Neil Young, whom Nils started his career with over four decades ago).

"Old School has many different types of songs and feels... some rough, bluesy tracks to haunting acoustic songs," continues Lofgren. "There's some interesting and controversial characters in these songs and I look forward to everyone's reaction."

The self-produced album starts off with the title track, which features ex-Foreigner lead singer Lou Gramm. Then there's "Amy Joan Blues," where Paul Rodgers guests, while "Ain't Too Many Of Us Left" has Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame inductee Sam Moore.

Sam Moore comments about the collaboration, "It hit me when I was in the studio with Nils that we've lost so many of our friends, peers and colleagues in the past few years...The Big Man, Billy Preston, Wilson Pickett, George Harrison, Solomon Burke, Johnny Cash, Isaac Hayes. It hit me how true it is that there 'ain't too many of us left.' I was flattered and honored that Nils asked me to join him to pay a little honor and remind everyone in some way to remember our dear but departed friends and loved ones."

"Ain't Too Many Of Us Left" has been made available as a free download at for fans to enjoy and the entire CD can be pre-ordered on the site as well. 

As an integral member of the Bruce Sprngsteen's E Street Band since 1984, Nils has remained consistently busy as part of the group, and as a solo artist.

In addition to songwriting and performing, Nils also devotes time to his online guitar school (, which has garnered tremendous response from guitar players all over the world. Beginner lessons are offered in English, Spanish and Italian...

In early September, Nils released "When You Are Loved" (via free download on his site), a 9/11 song that honors heroes, victims and families.

1. Old School
2. 60 Is The New 18
3. Miss You Ray
4. Love Stumbles On
5. Amy Joan Blues
6. Irish Angel
7. Ain't Too Many Of Us Left
8. When You Were Mine
9. Just Because You Love Me
10. Dream Big
11. Let Her Get Away
12. Why Me

No comments: