Friday, August 31, 2018

The Cranberries debut album to get deluxe 25th Anniversary reissue

I can't wait to hear this. Back in the '90s, I interviewed Noel for the second album and saw the band live several times. I was fortunate enough to review their reunion tour a few years back as well...

Last year, the four members of the Cranberries – Dolores O’Riordan, Noel Hogan, Mike Hogan, and Fergal Lawler – came together to plan a 25th Anniversary box set release for their debut album, Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We?.

Following Dolores’ untimely death in January of this year, the remaining band members have decided to go ahead with the album’s expanded 25th Anniversary Edition box set, which is set for global release on Oct. 19 by Island/UMe in 4CD and digital audio formats.

On the same date, a 2CD Deluxe package pairing the remastered album with session outtakes, B-sides, the band’s debut EP, and early demos will be released, as well as digital and vinyl editions of the remastered album, including a 180-gram black LP and a limited edition color LP.

Preorder Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? (25th Anniversary Edition):

Originally released March 12, 1993, Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? hit the No. 1 spot in both the UK and Ireland and has sold more than six million copies worldwide. At the time of the album’s release, Dolores remarked that the universal appeal of the Cranberries’ songs was based on “My own life and experiences as a human being, how human beings treat each other.”

In 2016, the Cranberries received a Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) Award for three million radio plays of their debut Island Records single, “Dreams.” Two 1991 demos for the song, taken from an original cassette, are included in the extras collected for the album’s 25th Anniversary Edition.

The album achieved platinum sales status in the United States, Australia, New Zealand, and the UK. It became a No. 1 album in Ireland and the UK; in the U.S., it peaked at eighteen on the Billboard 200 albums chart.

The phenomenal success and continued popularity of ‘Everybody Else...’ should not only be judged by its total sales – six million copies sold worldwide to date, including five million in the U.S. alone – but also by the quality of the repertoire.

Track listing:

DISC ONE: Original Album, Remastered

1. I Still Do
2. Dreams
3. Sunday
4. Pretty
5. Waltzing Back
6. Not Sorry
7. Linger
8. Wanted
9. Still Can’t...
10. I Will Always
11. How
12. Put Me Down

DISC TWO: Album Outtakes / B-sides / Debut EP / Early Demos

1. Íosa
2. What You Were (Demo)
3. Linger (Dave Bascombe mix)
4. How (Alternate version)
Single B-sides
5. Liar
6. What You Were
7. Reason
8. How (Radical mix)
9. Them
10. Pretty (Prêt-à-Porter movie remix)
Debut EP
11. Uncertain
12. Nothing Left At All
13. Pathetic Senses
14. Them
Early demos (recorded as The Cranberry Saw Us)
15. Dreams (Unmixed)
16. Sunday
17. Linger
18. Chrome Paint
19. Fast One
20. Shine Down
21. Dreams (Pop mix)

DISC THREE: Live at Cork Rock (June 1, 1991)

1. Put Me Down
2. Dreams
3. Uncertain - Live at Féile, Tipperary (July 31, 1994)
4. Pretty
5. Wanted
6. Daffodil Lament
7. Linger
8. I Can’t Be With You
9. How
10. Ode to My Family
11. Not Sorry
12. Waltzing Back
13. Dreams
14. Ridiculous Thoughts
15. Zombie
16. (They Long to Be) Close to You

DISC FOUR: Radio Sessions

Dave Fanning, RTÉ radio session, 1991
1. Dreams
2. Uncertain
3. Reason
4. Put Me Down
John Peel, BBC Radio 1 session, 1992
5. Waltzing Back
6. Linger
7. Wanted
8. I Will Always
Dave Fanning, RTÉ radio session, 1993
9. The Icicle Melts
10. Wanted
11. Like You Used To
12. False

The Cranberries
Dolores O’Riordan – lead vocals, acoustic guitar
Noel Hogan – guitar, backing vocals
Mike Hogan – bass guitar
Fergal Lawler – drums, percussion

No comments: