Friday, March 9, 2018

Neil Young news

Netflix has acquired worldwide rights to Paradox, directed by Daryl Hannah, featuring Neil Young + Promise of the Real. It features new music and performances. The film will world premiere at next week’s SXSW Film Festival on March 15, and will launch globally on Netflix on March 23 and in limited theatrical release.

A fantasy, a loud poem and a free-spirited tale of music and love, Paradox is a one-of-a-kind personal expression. Sometime in the future—or is it the past?—a band of outlaws hide high up in the Mountains.

The "Man in the Black Hat" (Neil Young), the "Particle Kid" (Micah Nelson) and "Jail Time" (Lukas Nelson) pass the hours searching for treasure while they wait for the full moon to lend its magic, bring the music and make the spirits fly. Vibrating with original music by Young + Promise of the Real, Paradox furthers the legacy of an iconic performer who has always broken the rules.

Paradox is written and directed by Daryl Hannah, making her feature-length debut behind the camera. Hannah’s "The Last Supper," a 1993 short which she wrote, directed and produced, won a Jury Prize at the Berlin Film Festival.

"Paradox sprung up spontaneously and unexpectedly, like a peculiar dandelion, popping up between the cracks in the pavement. We were fortunate to find this brief window of opportunity to share the love for the natural world, each other and for the precious seeds of creativity and life. We are all thrilled the film will premiere at SXSW and that Netflix will be sharing it with the world," said Hannah.

The cast includes Young, Lukas Nelson, Micah Nelson, Willie Nelson, Corey McCormick, Anthony LoGerfo, Tato Melgar, Charris Ford and Dulcie Clarkson Ford. The film is produced by Bernard Shakey and Elliott Rabinowitz, edited by Paul Snyder and photographed by Adam CK Vollick.

On March 23 on digital and vinyl, Reprise/Warner Bros. Records releases Paradox (Original Music from the Film), including studio and live performances by Neil Young + Promise of the Real, classic covers and music composed exclusively for the film. 

In related Young news:

Among the Warner Bros. Records titles exclusively available on April 21, recognized as Record Store Day, is Roxy – Tonight’s The Night Live - A three-sided 2-LP set. Limited to 9,000 copies.

Recorded live at the grand opening of the famed Roxy on the Sunset Strip in West Hollywood, Calif., Summer 1973. This album showcases first public performance of many of the songs that would make up Young’s seminal album Tonight’s The Night, which would not be released until June 1975. 

The Record Store Day Limited Edition contains an exclusive photo of Neil and the Santa Monica Flyers on stage at the Roxy. It features Neil Young with The Santa Monica Flyers: Neil Young: Vocals, guitars, piano, harmonica, Ben Keith: Pedal steel guitar, slide guitar, vocals, Nils Lofgren: Piano, vocals, guitar, Billy Talbot: Bass and Ralph Molina: Drums, vocals. The standard vinyl edition (without exclusive print) CD and digital editions will follow on April 24.

No comments: