Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Toto retrospective, tour update

Toto has confirmed a Feb. 9 worldwide release date on Legacy Recordings (a division of Sony Music) for their new Greatest Hits package titled 40 Trips Around The Sun.

The 17 track album features three previously unreleased recordings: “Spanish Sea” “Alone” and “Struck By Lightning” alongside newly remastered classic tracks worked on by Elliot Scheiner & Gavin Lurssen and his team. The core Toto members, Steve Lukather, David Paich, Steve Porcaro, Joseph Williams re-entered the studio earlier this year to work on this release.

While going through the Sony vaults, the band uncovered several unfinished tracks that featured both Jeff and Mike Porcaro, one of which is now “Spanish Sea.”

“This track is originally from the Isolation sessions,” Steve Lukather commented. “It’s one that didn't make it and we had to re-write it including creating a new chorus. Thanks to modern tech we were able to play once again with not only our 20 something selves but with our dear brothers Jeff and Mike Porcaro reminding us just how deep their groove was. Bittersweet... Many stories, laughs and a few tears on this one. It’s classic Toto with an excellent solo and I kept my old 1985 melody solo Dave wanted me to do... Old meets new but since legendary pal Al Schmitt cut the tracks and Bob Clearmountain sounds like it was done 2 weeks ago not 30 + years ago!”

The track was debuted on BBC Radio 2 yesterday morning in the UK. Click here to listen to “Spanish Sea”: 

All fans who pre-order the album beginning today will receive both “Spanish Sea” & “Alone” as instant grat tracks. “Alone is a brand new song,” Lukather remarked. “This one was written with just the four of us really writing together and no one else in the room with us. We wanted to start with an ‘up’ song in terms of groove for the album. The lyric is darker but we are older guys now ands have lived life. The good, bad and ugly... we have lived it all and in the end we are all alone anyway. Proud of this piece and it just sort of organically happened.” Fans can pre-order the album here: 

The third new track on 40 Trips Around The Sun: “Struck By Lightning” began with David Paich. “I had the opening riff in my head for months,” Paich said. “Joe and the guys helped flesh this one out. I love the heavy arrangement and Luke’s solo on it is an all time great!”

Beginning in February, the band will begin the first leg of their worldwide 40 Trips Around The Sun tour in support of their 40th anniversary. 36 shows in Europe have been announced to date. The tour will be the band’s most extensive run in years and is expected to hit the U.S. later in 2018. More shows will be announced shortly.

Track listing: 

Spanish Sea
I'll Supply The Love
I'll Be Over You
Stranger In Town
Struck By Lightning
Afraid Of Love
I Won't Hold You Back
Jake To The Bone
Stop Loving You
Hold The Line
George Porgy

Euro Tour dates:

2/11 Helsinki, FI Icehall
2/12 Tallinn, EE Nordea Concert Hall
2/14 Stockholm, SE Fryshuset
2/16 Oslo, NO Spektrum
2/17 Copenhagen, DK Forum
2/19 Hamburg, DE Mehr! Theater
2/21 Dusseldorf, DE Mitsubishi-Electric Hall
2/22 Munich, DE Olympiahalle
2/24 Berlin, DE C-Halle
2/25 Leipzig, DE Haus Auensee
2/27 Prague, CZ Forum Karlin
2/28 Krakow, PL Tauron Arena
3/2 Vienna, AT Gasometer
3/4 Sofia, BG National Palace Of Culture
3/5 Skopje, MK Boris Trajkovski Sports Hall
3/9 Zagreb, HR Dom Sportova
3/10 Milan, IT Mediolanum Forum
3/12 Zurich, CH Hallenstadion
3/13 Stuttgart, DE Porsche Arena
3/15 Lille, FR Zenith
3/17 Amsterdam, NL Ziggo Dome
3/18 Brussels, BE Forest National
3/20 Offenbach, DE Stadthalle
3/22 Geneva, CH Arena Geneva
3/23 Bologna, IT Unipol Arena
3/25 Marseille, FR Dome
3/26 Toulouse, FR Zenith
3/27 Lyon, FR Halle Tony Garnier
3/29 Luxembourg City, LU Rockhal
3/30 Paris, FR La Seine Musicale
4/1 London, UK Royal Albert Hall
4/2 Manchester, UK Bridgewater Hall
4/4 Dublin, IE Vicar Street
4/5 Dublin, IE Vicar Street
4/7 Belfast, UK Waterfront Auditorium
4/8 Glasgow, UK SEC Armadillo

No comments: