Monday, April 18, 2016

The Verve's Richard Ashcroft to make long-awaited solo return

Harvest Records will release These People, Richard Ashcroft's first album in six years on May 20. "Hold On," a track from the new album, can be heard HERE.

The album pre-order is HERE. Fans who pre-order These People digitally will instantly receive "Hold On" and "This Is How It Feels." See below for the complete track listing. Fans can also preorder These People on vinyl from his store and have access to limited signed vinyl and an exclusive t-shirt.

Ashcroft - who has been honored with two Brit awards, an Ivor Novello Award and a Grammy nomination for The Verve's "Bittersweet Symphony" - produced These People in London with longtime collaborator Chris Potter. He reunited with Wil Malone to work on orchestrations of the material. Malone previously collaborated with Ashcroft on the string arrangements for The Verve's A Northern Soul (1995) and the 10-million-selling Urban Hymns (1997) plus Ashcroft's acclaimed debut solo album, Alone with Everybody (2000).

Watching personal and world events take a darker turn compelled Ashcroft to record the album and, he says, led to " a sense of urgency and a clearing of the mind." While These People addresses such topics as the war in Syria, the Arab Spring uprisings and the death of a friend, it also brims with hope, as evidenced in the transcendent track "This Is How It Feels."

View the video for "This Is How It Feels" HERE or stream the track HERE.

Track Listing:

1. Out Of My Body
2. This Is How It Feels
3. They Don't Own Me
4. Hold On
5. These People
6. Everybody Needs Somebody To Hurt
7. Picture Of You
8. Black Lines
9. Ain't The Future So Bright
10. Songs Of Experience

No comments: