Monday, April 11, 2016

Book of Love retrospective album on the way

Book of Love has announced a new compilation album to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the band's eponymous debut album.

MMXVI - BOOK OF LOVE - THE 30TH ANNIVERSARY COLLECTION will be available on Sire/Rhino Records on July 1 and will feature re-mastered versions of the band's greatest hits and never-before released demos.

This digital collection will also feature two new songs, "All Girl Band" and "Something Good," which are the band's first new recordings in more than 15 years.

Book Of Love, with all four original members, will also perform a special 30th Anniversary Concert in New York City to coincide with the release of the new album and the band's 30th anniversary. This performance is being retooled and expanded for this special occasion and will be the first time that that the full band has performed together in many years.

One of the premiere first wave electronic groups, Book of Love emerged out of the New York City scene in the mid-'80s and was signed by the legendary Seymour Stein to Sire Records. On April 1, 1986, art-students-turned musicians, Ted Ottaviano, Susan Ottaviano, Jade Lee and Lauren Roselli released the band's debut album.

Between 1986 and 1993, the band released four albums and had a steady string of influential club hits, including the classics "Boy" and "I Touch Roses," the ebullient "You Make Me Feel So Good", and "Pretty Boys & Pretty Girls/Tubular Bells" which crossed over on the Billboard Hot 100. The band's music was featured in the classic films Planes, Trains and Automobiles, Silence of the Lambs, and American Psycho.

Details on the New York City 30th Anniversary Concert will be released at a later date.

No comments: