Friday, October 23, 2015

Former Strangler Hugh Cornwell puts out solo retrospective

Hugh Cornwell is one of the most important figures in punk and new wave music. He was the lead singer, guitarist and songwriter for The Stranglers, best known for UK hits “Golden Brown,” “No More Heroes,” “Peaches,” and “Always The Sun.”
The English singer/songwriter/s new release The Fall And Rise Of Hugh Cornwell is out now through Invisible Hands Music. It marks the first ever anthology of his post-Stranglers career, 25 five years after leaving the band. This album brings together 12 choice Cornwell classics taken from the first 6 solo albums, plus 1 new studio recording, “Live It And Breathe It.”

Cornwell’s first solo record “Wolf” (1988) was released whilst still a member of the band but, since leaving The Stranglers in 1990, Hugh Cornwell has made series of well-received solo albums including: “Wired” (1993), “Guilty” (1997), “Hi Fi” (2000), “Beyond Elysian Fields” (2004), “Hooverdam” (2008) with producers including Tony Visconti, Laurie Latham, and Liam Watson. “The Fall And Rise Of Hugh Cornwell” includes two tracks from each of these six albums, plus the 2015 recording “Live It And Breathe It”.

Track List:

1. Leave Me Alone
2. Beat Of My Heart
3. Hot Cat On A Tin Roof
4. Break Of Dawn
5. Under Her Spell
6. First Bus To Babylon
7. Please Don't Put Me On A Slow Boat To Trowbridge
8. Lay Back On Me Pal
9. One Burning Desire
10. Cadiz
11. Long Dead Train
12. Getting Involved

No comments: