Friday, October 16, 2015

Brian Setzer Orchestra back with new holiday album

Can't wait to hear this. Read more from the press release below...

Veteran singer/guitarist/songwriter and triple Grammy-Award winner BRIAN SETZER and THE BRIAN SETZER ORCHESTRA released ROCKIN’ RUDOLPH – their first studio Christmas album in 10 years today via Surfdog Records.

The album was produced by Peter Collins and recorded in both Nashville and Hollywood, CA. The 12-tracks include “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree,” “Yabba-Dabba Yuletide,” and “Rockabilly Rudolph,” among other notable Christmas classic tunes.

Click here to watch a video for ROCKIN’ RUDOLPH, available as a limited edition box set, CD, vinyl or download.

The 18-piece band will support the album with their 12th Annual Christmas Rocks! Tour, featuring music from the new album plus music off their three previous best-selling holiday albums. The outing will visit 31 cities beginning Nov. 14 in Minneapolis. Click here for full tour itinerary. For an up-to-date list of tour dates and tickets, visit

“It’s been about 10 years since I made a Christmas record,” says SETZER. “It [Christmas music] just seems to get more popular every year. They’re classic songs and you wonder after a couple records how many of them are left. Once you dig in you find, wow! I’ve haven’t done ‘Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree,’ you know. I’ve never done ‘Here Comes Santa Claus!’ Ones that everyone knows and are still out there. These songs are great songs. It doesn’t matter if they’re holiday songs or when they were written, they’re just great songs. So the trick,” adds SETZER, “is to make them sound hip. Some of them are eternally hip, you know, so you don’t have to do too much.”

Track listing for standard edition of ROCKIN’ RUDOLPH:

1. “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree”
2. “Yabba-Dabba Yuletide”
3. “Most Wonderful Time of the Year”
4. “Rockabilly Rudolph”
5. “Here Comes Santa Claus”
6. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”
7. “Swingin’ Joy”
8. “Carol of the Bells”
9. “Little Jack Frost”
10. “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”
11. “O Little Town of Bethlehem”
12. “Yabba-Dabba Yuletide” (extended)


1. Brand New Rockin’ Rudolph album on CD
2. Commemorative Sheet Music / Guitar Chart to “Nutcracker Suite” (just as Brian reads on stage!)
3. Custom Brian Setzer Die-cut Christmas Tree Ornament (3″ tall, alloy metal)
4. Brian Setzer’s Own Murray’s Pomade (Hair Product)
5. Commemorative BSO “Martini Logo” Stainless Steel Guitar Pick
6. BSO Christmas Album Cover Drink Coasters
7. Six Polaroid-style BSO Concert Photos
8. “Live in Nashville” 10×10 print
9. Reusable 8GB USB Credit Card w/ Extras, including:
Hi-definition .wav files of full 12-track ROCKIN’ RUDOLPH album
2 New Bonus Instrumental Tracks Not Included on Album: “Deck The Halls” & “Little Drummer Boy”
Album Cover Rough Sketches by Artist Derek Yaniger
Brief Behind-the-scenes video footage of BSO’s Rockin’ Rudolph recording session (House of Blues studio in Nashville, TN.)
“Jingle Bells” – Live Performance by BSO (previously released)
“Nutcracker Suite” – Live Performance by BSO (previously released)
Behind-the-scenes look at Brian writing entire big band arrangement from scratch (previously released)

No comments: