Sunday, June 14, 2015

Foals returns with new music in August

I had a great interview with Yannis for the last album for the OC Register (find it elsewhere on this blog), so I'm really looking forward to the new music...

Foals has announced fourth album What Went Down is set for release Aug. 28 on Warner Bros. Records.
The first single and title track of the Oxfordshire, UK quintet's new album will debut exclusively on Annie Mac's Radio 1 show in England this Tuesday, June 16 between 7-9pm. 
It signals the return of a band who made their name in 2006 playing at house parties, and who, six years later, in 2013, became UK festival headliners. Fans will be able to download the song directly after it is played on Radio 1.

For this album, Foals teamed up with producer James Ford (Arctic Monkeys, Florence & The Machine, Jessie Ware, Mumford & Sons) and retreated to the South of France to record in a rural 19th-century mill. 
Lyrically, vocalist Yannis Philippakis deals with themes around cultural identity, generational anxiety, cynicism, pessimism and heartbreak.
"I wanted to tap into my inner madman and feel like I was channeling some sort of fevered creature," he says. 

Foals have released three top ten albums to date: Antidotes (2007), Total Life Forever (2010) and Holy Fire (2013).
2013 was the year that Foals broke through. Appearing high up the bill at festivals around the world, Foals became festival headliners in the UK, headlining Bestival, Latitude and Parklife, drawing the biggest crowds of the weekends.
By the end of 2013 Foals had won another slew of awards: Best Live Act at the Q Awards, Best Live Act at The Sun Bizarre awards, Best Single ("Inhaler") at the NME Awards and a Barclaycard Mercury Music Prize nomination (the band's second in a row).

Foals are:
Yannis Philippakis (vocals/guitar)
Jimmy Smith (guitar/keys)
Walter Gervers (bass)
Jack Bevan (drums)
Edwin Congreave (keys)

Track listing:
What Went Down // Mountain At My Gates // Birch Tree // Give It All // Albatross // Snake Oil // Night Swimmers // London Thunder // Lonely Hunter // A Knife In The Ocean

No comments: