Friday, May 1, 2015

Punk/new wave supergroup Dead Men Walking

In advance of the official release of punk/new wave supergroup Dead Men Walking's debut Easy Piracy next week via Slimstyle Records, the full album is now available for streaming on Allmusic; click here.

Members include Mike Peters of The Alarm (vocals), Captain Sensible of The Damned (bass/vocals) and Slim Jim Phantom of The Stray Cats (drums/vocals) along with Chris Cheney from The Living End (guitar/vocals).

Captain Sensible said, "I know pirates are kinda trendy and all that but when you listen to the album it sounds pretty much as you'd expect if a bunch of swashbuckling chancers got together and formed a garage band. Keeping the record sessions as free of modern processors, maximisers and correction software as possible gave the music a glorious natural feel. As for the handclaps - who's NOT partial to a bit of glam rock? We'll have see about the eye shadow and stack heels though. But never say never..." 

Playing their first show in Los Angeles at The Troubadour last September, the band's live shows have featured such special guest performers as comedian/actor/musician Fred Armisen, Brian Setzer of The Stray Cats, Mick Jones and Topper Headon of The Clash, Duff McKagan of Guns N' Roses/Velvet Revolver/Loaded, Billy Duffy of The Cult, Lemmy of Motorhead and more.  Look for guests like these and others at the shows.

West Coast tour dates:

 5         Seattle, WA                 Crocodile CafĂ©
 6         Portland, OR               Dante's
 7         San Francisco, CA     Brick & Mortar Music Hall
 8         Santa Ana, CA            Constellation Room
 9         Los Angeles, CA         The Troubadour
10        San Diego, CA            Soda Bar

No comments: